Does Pummeling Style count as Full-attack?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I'm trying to build a Crane-Pummeling Brawler/monk, and meet some problems.

The first is as the title, does Pummeling Style count as Full-attack? So I can Fight Defensively when I use Pummeling Style?

Another question is:
Can I use Fighting Defensively when I charge?

If i can't use Fighting Defensively while use Pummeling style, i may need to reconsider my build :(


It is a full round action, not full attack.

The same with charge. A full round action, not full attack action.

Fighting defensively is a standard action, or part of a full attack action.


Pummeling Style is a full-round action. Technically, it is not a "full attack" so it seems ineligible for fighting defensively.

Charging is also not a "full attack" and it is a full-round action, so it is also ineligible for fighting defensively.

Scarab Sages

Yeah, pummeling style is not a full attack, so it doesn't allow you to fight defensively RAW. However, since it allows you to make attack rolls as if you made a full attack, I would allow it.


This question relies on a distinction started with Magus's Spell Combat (still not totally resolved). The question I posed at the time was whether Spell Combat (and similar full-round actions that mimic a full-attack) count as full-attacks to allow Haste to work with them, or if Haste was changed to work not just with full-attacks, but also on similar full-round actions. In the case of the former, it means that any action that allows you to make "all your attacks" like Spell Combat or Pummeling Style count for benefits that apply only to full-attacks, whereas in the latter, the change was made to Haste alone. The response I received at the time was that they were "looking into the interactions before making a final decision" but they haven't, to date, addressed the distinction.

So the answer is, "maybe".


Kazaan wrote:

This question relies on a distinction started with Magus's Spell Combat (still not totally resolved). The question I posed at the time was whether Spell Combat (and similar full-round actions that mimic a full-attack) count as full-attacks to allow Haste to work with them, or if Haste was changed to work not just with full-attacks, but also on similar full-round actions. In the case of the former, it means that any action that allows you to make "all your attacks" like Spell Combat or Pummeling Style count for benefits that apply only to full-attacks, whereas in the latter, the change was made to Haste alone. The response I received at the time was that they were "looking into the interactions before making a final decision" but they haven't, to date, addressed the distinction.

So the answer is, "maybe".

I'd say it is more like "The rules don't allow it right now, but they may in the future". And unfortunately depending on how they approach the FAQ, it might not even go beyond Haste.

For this particular situation, it is pretty cut and dry, full attack action vs full round action. To date, there are no exceptions to the rules that allow it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Pummeling Style count as Full-attack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions