Spell-like Abilities based on Racial HIt Dice (Where there are none)


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

I've applied the fungal creature template to a human druid, thereby changing his type to "plant (augmented)".

I've then applied the green warden template to my new plant creature.

The druid receives spell-like abilities from the green warden template.

As per the template description:

"Spell-like Abilities: A green warden gains the following spell-like abilities. The caster level equals the green warden's racial HD. The save DCs are Charisma-based."

Here's the problem: the creature I've created doesn't have any racial hit dice.

How do I determine caster level??


If they have no racial hit dice, they have no caster level, and so have no spell-like abilities from green warden.

Alternatively, as they are no longer humanoid, they no longer get to exchange their one racial hit die for a class level, and therefore would have at least 1 racial hit die.

Quote:
Humanoids with 1 Hit Die exchange the features of their humanoid Hit Die for the class features of a PC or NPC class.

Sovereign Court

Jeraa wrote:

If they have no racial hit dice, they have no caster level, and so have no spell-like abilities from green warden.

Alternatively, as they are no longer humanoid, they no longer get to exchange their one racial hit die for a class level, and therefore would have at least 1 racial hit die.

Quote:
Humanoids with 1 Hit Die exchange the features of their humanoid Hit Die for the class features of a PC or NPC class.

Thanks. That makes sense. Somehow I think the author of the template didn't consider the possibility that something might gain the template with no racial HD. But I like your suggestion about the 1 HD consolation.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

I'm not sure if it's totally RAW, but I would say they should default to 1 HD, because that's what a human has before taking class levels. But it would never increase unless you add a template that increases racial HD.


Raphael wrote:
Jeraa wrote:

If they have no racial hit dice, they have no caster level, and so have no spell-like abilities from green warden.

Alternatively, as they are no longer humanoid, they no longer get to exchange their one racial hit die for a class level, and therefore would have at least 1 racial hit die.

Quote:
Humanoids with 1 Hit Die exchange the features of their humanoid Hit Die for the class features of a PC or NPC class.
Thanks. That makes sense. Somehow I think the author of the template didn't consider the possibility that something might gain the template with no racial HD. But I like your suggestion about the 1 HD consolation.

It's less "didn't consider the possibility" and more "didn't want the possibility", in all likelihood.

The Half-Dragon has the same issue, with its breath weapon tied to its racial hit dice. That's something that had to be changed from 3.5, so there's a strong case for reading it as an intentional decision. Same thing here.

Sovereign Court

I wish I'd get an official Paizo ruling on this.

The other day I saw Paizo freelancer Michael Kortes on the street, and asked him. He thought it was clearly an oversight, although he said his opinion mattered little.


I think the point was that humanoids weren't intended to work well with these sorts of things.

In this specific case, a Green Warden is only supposed to be applied to a plant. You've used another template to turn a humanoid into a plant, creature, so it's no surprise when everything doesn't work out and play well together.

However, as a GM you can do whatever you want. Get it a caster level equal to hit dice, not just racial hit dice. It's a monster, it doesn't necessarily need to follow the rules.


The simple answer, is if you are the DM, make it what you want that you think fits for the creature you are trying to create.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell-like Abilities based on Racial HIt Dice (Where there are none) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions