| SteampunkLemur |
I am currently playing a kitsune sorcerer that focuses on enchantment spells. but in order to be of more use in the party I wanted to cross class into arcane Archer and use some AoE spells for range combat. the spell detonate specifies in its description that the elemental energy builds up within the sorcerer, but the description of the spell for its mechanics specifies that it is an AoE centered on the caster. My DM does not think it will work due to the flavor description stating that the energy is within me but everything that I have seen points towards the energy building up from the point of the spells casting area which would be the target struck with the arrow.
so I guess my question is according to the rules would putting the spell on a arrow be viable? And if so can somebody please provide a way of explaining it to my DM that would help him understand. there are not very many AoE spells that deal damage that are good for this ability and I really want the ability to choose the elemental type like detonate provides. I would definitely appreciate any assistance
| Cavall |
It is viable. You change the center to where it lands. That's part of the class which specifically overrides the spells.
Edit:
If your GM wants to keep the flavor you could still "explode" anyways as the energy travels through you in to the arrow. But that's a call he has to make and I wouldn't do that personally. The explosion would still be shifted.
| Gauss |
Imbue Arrow (Su): At 2nd level, an arcane archer gains the ability to place an area spell upon an arrow. When the arrow is fired, the spell’s area is centered where the arrow lands, even if the spell could normally be centered only on the caster. This ability allows the archer to use the bow’s range rather than the spell’s range. A spell cast in this way uses its standard casting time and the arcane archer can fire the arrow as part of the casting. The arrow must be fired during the round that the casting is completed or the spell is wasted. If the arrow misses, the spell is wasted.
There is no question here, the text clearly states that spells like Detonate are specifically centered on the arrow rather than the caster when using Imbue Arrow.