Oracle with arcane spells quiestion.


Rules Questions


Hello, my group just started playing the iron gods ap, and my character is an oracle with the the life mystery and the blackened curse which lets him add some burn spells to his list of spells known, like burning hands.

Right now my character is wearing hide armor, and during our last session I asked would I incur the arcane spell failure for wearing medium armor when casting burning hands. One member of my group told me no, that burning hands would count as a divine spell and not incur the arcane spell failure penalty because I am still considered a pure divine caster at my level, and unless I level dip to an arcane class then all my spells are considered divine because of my class.

I think this is wrong, but cannot find anything to support or deny anything that my fellow player and I think on the matter. Can someone help me clarify this.

Grand Lodge

Oracles cast Divine Spells. Divine Spells do not suffer from ASF.


Faan wrote:
Oracles cast Divine Spells. Divine Spells do not suffer from ASF.

Burning hands is usually considered an arcane spell, but since it is a pure oracle casting it, it is considered a divine spell instead. At least that is what I am getting from your answer. The heart of my question is the burn spells I get from the blackened curse. Are they considered divine or arcane when my oracle is casting them?


You get it added to your oracle list, thus it's an oracle spell when you use it from your oracle


Divine. Many mysteries and domains give spells that normally only appear on the sorcerer / wizard list to oracles and clerics. They are all divine because the classes are divine casters.


OK, just from the few answers that I got, my fire spells gained from the blackened curse are considered divine spells.

Second question, what if my oracle gains arcane spells through another source other than his class features. Such as the eldritch heritage feat line, taking the arcane bloodline powers. Would the spells gained through that be considered divine or arcane when my oracle is casting them. From what you guys have posted would lead me to believe they would be considered divine since they are coming form my oracle spell list. Correct me if I am wrong.

Grand Lodge

Which ability are you talking about specifically?

There's a recent FAQ that may prevent it from working at all.


You don't gain the spells from that feat. There's a FAQ on it that it doesn't do anything for an oracle.

Up until the FAQ though it was allowed and they were divine.


ANY spell being cast using an Oracle spell slot is a divine spell.

Grand Lodge

If you're talking about Improved Eldritch Heritage to grab New Arcana, that was nerfed a year ago.

The spells must be added to your Class Spell List, not just "Spells Known".


1 person marked this as a favorite.

OK thanks for the clarification guys. This has been a big help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle with arcane spells quiestion. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions