Unchained Spell Attack Roll / Critical and Misfortune Hex (And Other Spells of the Same Effect)


Rules Questions


Hello All,

I have question regarding the Active Spellcasting Variant Rule, "Spell Attack Roll", withn Pathfinder Unchained.

If the PC casts the Misfortune Hex (see below for Hex description) on a target and he/she hits, how will Misfortune work when it comes to future spell Attack Rolls against that target?

Misfortune (Su)
Effect: The witch can cause a creature within 30 feet to suffer grave misfortune for 1 round. Anytime the creature makes an ability check, attack roll, saving throw, or skill check, it must roll twice and take the worse result. A Will save negates this hex. At 8th level and 16th level, the duration of this hex is extended by 1 round. This hex affects all rolls the target must make while it lasts. Whether or not the save is successful, a creature cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day.

Since the Hex is based on the target rolling twice and taking the lesser of the rolls, would that mean the PC would do the rolling and take the better of the two rolls (the opposit)?

Also, how would this work with other appilities/spells that would have the same effect?

Thank you in advance!

Grand Lodge

Misfortune does not effect those that target the enemy afflicted with the curse. It only effects rolls that that enemy makes.

So if you were to try and punch a Misfortuned enemy, you roll normally. If they try and punch you, they roll twice, take the lowest.


Aydin D'Ampfer wrote:

Misfortune does not effect those that target the enemy afflicted with the curse. It only effects rolls that that enemy makes.

So if you were to try and punch a Misfortuned enemy, you roll normally. If they try and punch you, they roll twice, take the lowest.

Ok, but when it comes to "saving throws," how would that work?

An example would be if the PC cast Bestow Curse on a target that has Misfortune, regular rules would be the target would make a saving throw and then roll twice and take the lowest, but on the Unchained rules the target is not making the saving throw, the PC is making a spell attack roll. This is where I have my question.


I would apply it so whoever is rolling rolls twice.

So if you have Misfortune on an enemy, and then you cast another spell on them:
Traditionally they roll twice, take the worst.
Using Spell Attack Roll, the caster rolls twice, takes the better.

Mechanically identical. Treat it like anyone that casts a spell on them (and the spell has a save) has the Fortune Hex.

Edited to fix typos.

Grand Lodge

I did not realize you were talking about the Unchained rules. My bad.

The simple ruling there is that there are no rules. Or at least, the Misfortune ability was created before the Unchained rules, so it was not worded to allow for what AlaskaRPGer is saying.

That said, I would rule with him on this. Your GM will be the final arbiter of these rules, because RAW really only matters for PFS.


Ok. Thank You!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unchained Spell Attack Roll / Critical and Misfortune Hex (And Other Spells of the Same Effect) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.