Must I give my teammate a ride?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


While thinking about strategies for another post here in the forum, I realized something about the wording on the WotR ally Riding Horse. The relevant card text reads

Riding Horse Text wrote:
Discard this card at the end of your turn to move yourself and another character at your location to another location.

My question -- The text implies that if you are at a location with another character, you have to take that character with you when you move. Is this the intended power? If so, this throws off my ideal use case for Riding Horse to mitigate temporary closings in a large party. Thanks in advance for the insights!


I don't have WotR yet, but my group usually plays PACG as "it is only optional if it says 'MAY'. if it does not, it is a requirement and must be done." the only exceptions are power feats. where the ([] and fire trait) or something is a choice.
Based off the wording you presented, if there are two characters at the location, and you play that card, both must go.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Unfortunately, until there is an official ruling otherwise, I'd have to agree that the wording doesn't say "may" so if there is one or more other characters with you at the current location, you pick one to move with you.


Something tells me this needs an official ruling but You can play however you want in your own home.

And I feel no guilt in house ruling that horses are not character magnets and do not drag characters against their will.

Adventure Card Game Designer

Noted. We will discuss.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
ryanshowseason2 wrote:

Something tells me this needs an official ruling but You can play however you want in your own home.

And I feel no guilt in house ruling that horses are not character magnets and do not drag characters against their will.

At home, yes. At ACG sessions, no. Luckily Mike saw and is on the stack. But until then, I'd say it is not "may".


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Gwyns Firstborn wrote:

I don't have WotR yet, but my group usually plays PACG as "it is only optional if it says 'MAY'. if it does not, it is a requirement and must be done." the only exceptions are power feats. where the ([] and fire trait) or something is a choice.

Based off the wording you presented, if there are two characters at the location, and you play that card, both must go.

The power feat you cited is not an exception; it received errata in the FAQ to say "and/or the fire trait." As worded on the card, a power feat structured like that would be a requirement and not optional. For example, see Wu Shen's Prey Stalker role card and the ability to banish the boons you evade -- this is a requirement if you take the power feat and you cannot choose not to do it: "On your turn you may discard (▢ or recharge) a card to evade a boon (▢ and banish it); you may immediately explore again."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added to FAQ.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Should the Griffon in the Paladin Class deck get the same kind of FAQ?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

It will, yes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Must I give my teammate a ride? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion