Shield other, damage type, and regeneration


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, looking for a clarification here. After searching through a few shield other threads it seems like damage type isn't carried through for the purposes of DR/resistance. That being the case, if you had an inevitable arbiter as a familiar, you were using shield other to share damage with it, and you take damage from a chaotic source, as I understand it this would not shut down your inevitable's regeneration (2 chaotic) as the damage would be untyped.

Is my reasoning correct or am I missing something?


Unless there's an FAQ on it, it's a bit of a gray area and it's going to be up to your DM. The spell does not explicitly state how damage is transferred, whether it's transferred magically or magically and physically or what. That means that the interpretation will be up to your DM, but I believe that most people play it such that the caster cannot mitigate the damage in any way. Which would also mean that the damage is untyped, so it would not shut off regeneration.

Again, however, I'm not certain on that. I would definitely suggest talking to your DM, or maybe hoping that someone who spends more time on these boards than I do has a FAQ reference available.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Ask your GM.

I'd rule damage taken by Shield Other as untyped spell damage and regenerate would work.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shield other, damage type, and regeneration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.