Balazar add to check to acquire


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hello,

I'm confused about Balazar's third power:

Character Card wrote:
When you defeat a monster and would banish it, you may add it to your hand instead. You may banish a monster from your hand to draw a card ([] or add 1d4 to any check to defeat a barrier) ([] or to any check to acquire a weapon, an armor, or an item).

My question is: What do I add to my check to acquire a weapon, an armor, or an item, a d4? And can I choose the second checkmark without choosing the first?

The two checkmark options are in a list ([] ...) ([] ...), so I would expect to be able to choose them in any order. But the sentence doesn't work with only the second mark:

Character Card wrote:
When you defeat a monster and would banish it, you may add it to your hand instead. You may banish a monster from your hand to draw a card or to any check to acquire a weapon, an armor, or an item.


First answer: 1d4.
Second answer: You have to take barrier before you take acquire.

The two checkmark options are in an unbroken list, meaning that they are a feat chain that must be taken sequentially.


Wait... So that means for :

When you defeat a monster and would banish it, you may add it to your hand (□ and you may shuffle a random monster from the box into your deck) instead. You may banish a monster from your hand (□ or discard pile) to draw a card (□ or add 1d4 to any check to defeat a barrier) (□ or to any check to acquire a weapon, an armor, or an item) (□ or reduce damage dealt to a character at your location by 3) (□ or add 1d6 to any combat check by a character at your location).

1d4 must check first
Then only may check the acquire armor/weapon/item
Then only may check reduce damage
Finally may check 1d6 combat

So that's like 4 power feats required before can get to the 1d6 combat?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That is correct (or rather, the 1d6 would be the 4th feat).

WotR rulebook, pg19 wrote:
If there's more than 1 checkbox associated with a skill, power, or card type, you must check the unchecked box farthest to the left before you can check immediately adjacent boxes.

Sovereign Court

Yup, because they are listed immediately after each other. So, if 1d6 is all you want from that, it probably isn't worth it. Everything that builds up to do it though makes up for the fact that 1d6 combat takes four feats.


This answers my question, thanks!


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I would note that you can grab the first two feats before you get your role card, so they aren't much of a hardship. I am fairly certain my Balazar would take those two anyway, even without looking at lead up on the role cards.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Balazar add to check to acquire All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion