Horsechopper and Halbred Reach Weapons?


Rules Questions


This came up in one of our PFS games and it was interesting.

A halbred is not a reach weapon.

"A halberd is similar to a 5-foot-long spear, but it also has a small, axe-like head mounted near the tip."

A horsechopper which is essentially a goblin halbred is a reach weapon.

"Crafted by goblins to give themselves an advantage against horses, this weapon is essentially a halberd with an enlarged hook opposite the blade."

Is the flavor text really misleading or is this a mistake. I understand the RAW just looking for thoughts.

Scarab Sages

Halberd. not a reach weapon.
Bardiche. Is a reach weapon.

It's clear that the game is not usually 100% correct when it comes to weapon stats. Don't even get me started on crossbows.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Horsechopper and Halbred Reach Weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.