Touch attacking familiar


Rules Questions


Ok, I can't find the rules for it so my search-fu must be broken. Can you have a familiar deliver a Touch attack as part of a Full attack action? If so, can you take the feat Evolved Familiar to give your familiar Pounce which in turn means, based on the ruling above, you can send in your familiar to deliver a Touch attack the same round it makes a Move action?

Sczarni

Mark Hoover wrote:
Can you have a familiar deliver a Touch attack as part of a Full attack action?

Sure. You simply designate your Familiar as the "toucher". If the spell you're having it deliver allows for multiple touches, then it can certainly utilize all of them given enough opportunities.

The interesting question comes from the interaction of having a high enough BAB to allow iterative attacks, combined with a Familiar that has multiple natural attacks of its own.

Mark Hoover wrote:
can you take the feat Evolved Familiar to give your familiar Pounce

Sure thing. "This evolution is only available to eidolons of the quadruped base form."

Mark Hoover wrote:
can you send in your familiar to deliver a Touch attack the same round it makes a Move action?

You can send in your Familiar to make a single touch attack during the same round that it takes a Move action. You could not have it pounce during the same round that it takes a Move action.

But otherwise, yes, your Familiar could pounce using touch attacks.

EDIT: forgot the requirement of being a quadruped.


wouldn't your familiar count as the "eidolon" in the evolution? Therefore you could have a mauler goat (quadraped) delivering Touch attacks as part of charge attacks?

Sczarni

I suppose a goat would work. Toad, Weasel, Cat, Platypus, and a couple others.

Cat would be the best with its Claw/Claw/Bite.

Ok. Carry on.


No but I thought there was a rule that said instead of making a Touch Attack with a held touch spell effect you could instead deliver it alongside a melee attack with an unarmed or natural attack. In other words:

My goat takes pounce. Before it charges I give it a Chill Touch spell. It can either run up into melee and target the enemy's Touch AC as a standard touch attack OR it can make a Charge action, using Pounce, to deliver a Full Attack in which it uses it's melee gore attack to hit and damage as normal but then ALSO deliver the Chill Touch damage and prompt a save from the enemy.

Did I dream this because I can't seem to find the rule to support this.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
CRB, pg. 186 wrote:
Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Yes, your goat can make a normal attack and if it hits get both the standard attack damage and the touch spell damage at the same time. It is just harder for the critter to hit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch attacking familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions