| FallzQuick |
level 1 wizard. selects bonded item.
level 2 fighter Eldritch Guardian archetype get a familiar.
character level 2.
Familiar (Ex): At 1st level, an eldritch guardian gains a familiar, treating his fighter level as his effective wizard level for the purpose of this ability. This ability replaces the bonus feat gained at 1st level.
Can I get both a familiar and a bonded item?
I've seen in other archetypes that they forbid both, but not this one. for example a Sorcerer with Tattooed Sorcerer archetype has this.
Familiar Tattoo (Su): A tattooed sorcerer gains a familiar as an arcane bond, as a wizard equal to her sorcerer level. Her sorcerer levels stack with any wizard or witch levels she possesses when determining the powers of her familiar—this ability does not allow her to have both a familiar and a bonded item.
And now for the follow up question(s)
If the above Wizard/Eldritch Guardian then got the Improved Familiar Bond feat.
Prerequisites: Familiar Bond, Iron Will.
Benefit: Your familiar gains all the normal abilities available to a familiar of a wizard with a level equal to your total Hit Dice. You also gain the special ability normally gained by a master of your type of familiar.
Would the character be able to select this feat or because it is not a "bonded familiar" it would not be qualify from the Prerequisites (assuming Iron will was already taken)?
edit: typo
| CalethosVB |
Familiar Bond is a feat, so skipping it as a prerequisite is not possible. Improved Familiar Bond is a 3-feat chain. Iron Will, Familiar Bond, Improved Familiar Bond.
As for whether your Familiar from your Fighter levels stack with your Wizard levels, no. Once you choose a bonded item as a Wizard you are no longer entitled to a familiar and gain no benefits from one unless you pick one up in a different fashion, such as from dipping into Arcane Sorcerer, Eldritch Guardian or another Familiar Folio archetype, Familiar Bond, Eldritch Heritage, or VMC Wizard or Arcane Sorcerer.
But yes, you may have a familiar and a bonded item unless otherwise stated. Both function at the highest level of the class that grant them gained. Wizard 1 (item), Eldritch Guardian 2 would have a level 1 item and a level 2 familiar. Wizard 1 (item), Eldritch Guardian 2, Arcane Sorcerer 2 (familiar) would have a level 1 item and a level 4 familiar.
A Bladebound Magus also says he can never gain a familiar, effectively cutting off any of the forementioned ways to gain a familiar.
LazarX
|
LazarX wrote:The Bladebound Magus can't gain a familiar because he's become a familiar to that talking blade he carries.It's that like cohorts can't take Leadership because they are already underlings to a leader above them so don't qualify?
I find the concept of a cohort taking leadership rather wonky at best.
Kalindlara
Contributor
|
LazarX wrote:The Bladebound Magus can't gain a familiar because he's become a familiar to that talking blade he carries.It's that like cohorts can't take Leadership because they are already underlings to a leader above them so don't qualify?
The bladebound magus has specific text saying 'no familiars' - it doesn't say why, exactly.
Technically, there's nothing in the rules preventing a cohort from taking Leadership. (Let me know if you find a GM that would allow it - it's 99.9% certain not RAI.)
LazarX
|
CalethosVB wrote:LazarX wrote:The Bladebound Magus can't gain a familiar because he's become a familiar to that talking blade he carries.It's that like cohorts can't take Leadership because they are already underlings to a leader above them so don't qualify?The bladebound magus has specific text saying 'no familiars' - it doesn't say why, exactly.
Technically, there's nothing in the rules preventing a cohort from taking Leadership. (Let me know if you find a GM that would allow it - it's 99.9% certain not RAI.)
My initial post was meant to be more in the tone of sardonic humor. The classic talking sword that wields it's wielder.
Kalindlara
Contributor
|
Kalindlara wrote:My initial post was meant to be more in the tone of sardonic humor. The classic talking sword that wields it's wielder.CalethosVB wrote:LazarX wrote:The Bladebound Magus can't gain a familiar because he's become a familiar to that talking blade he carries.It's that like cohorts can't take Leadership because they are already underlings to a leader above them so don't qualify?The bladebound magus has specific text saying 'no familiars' - it doesn't say why, exactly.
Technically, there's nothing in the rules preventing a cohort from taking Leadership. (Let me know if you find a GM that would allow it - it's 99.9% certain not RAI.)
I see. Fair enough. ^_^