Planar Ally / Binding Questions


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

With Planar Ally, can you call creatures with the celestial/etc. templates? The spell text says it calls outsiders only, while the text of the templates say that they can be summoned by planar ally.

As for Planar Binding, is there any chance of getting the mention of elementals errata'd out of the text eventually?


Milo v3 wrote:

With Planar Ally, can you call creatures with the celestial/etc. templates? The spell text says it calls outsiders only, while the text of the templates say that they can be summoned by planar ally.

As for Planar Binding, is there any chance of getting the mention of elementals errata'd out of the text eventually?

Basically if your GM alllows/wants it to. The creature you get isn't of your choice in Planar Ally, you can request a specific creature, but you don't necessarily get that creature.

Why would they remove elementals?


Skylancer4 wrote:
Basically if your GM alllows/wants it to. The creature you get isn't of your choice in Planar Ally, you can request a specific creature, but you don't necessarily get that creature.

This isn't for requesting the resolute creatures, I'm wondering if they can be called at all or not. Since one source says they can, and another does not.

Quote:
Why would they remove elementals?

Because elemental is redundant to mention since it has been turned into a subtype of outsider. Simply allowing it to call outsiders, automatically allows it to call elementals. The mention of elementals in the spell is simply an artifact from 3.5e that they didn't notice in editing.


Skylancer4 wrote:
Why would they remove elementals?

While I don't think they removed elementals from the list, there *could* be an argument involving Efreets


Well the spell says that it calls outsiders, and the templates state the creatures live on the various planes and they can be called on.

General rule is you can call outsiders, the specific rule in the template is they can be called as well.


Milo v3 wrote:


This isn't for requesting the resolute creatures, I'm wondering if they can be called at all or not. Since one source says they can, and another does not.

Specific overrides general. The specific text of the templates overrides the general text of the spell. We know that's the order because the templates specifically mention the spell.

Milo v3 wrote:
Because elemental is redundant to mention since it has been turned into a subtype of outsider. Simply allowing it to call outsiders, automatically allows it to call elementals. The mention of elementals in the spell is simply an artifact from 3.5e that they didn't notice in editing.

Redundancy is a good thing. Believe me, if it wasn't spelled out plainly, people would try to argue elementals are not a legal choice. Better to be doubly clear.


Sometimes I wonder if my Aasimar Paladin can be called by some wizard.


Blakmane wrote:
Redundancy is a good thing. Believe me, if it wasn't spelled out plainly, people would try to argue elementals are not a legal choice. Better to be doubly clear.

And they would have no evidence of that view point since all elementals are outsiders, making it a pretty random viewpoint to get. It'd be like arguing you can't call devils with it, since it doesn't mention the devil subtype.

It's not just spelled out plainly, the text makes no sense to exist.

Entryhazard wrote:
Sometimes I wonder if my Aasimar Paladin can be called by some wizard.

Native outsiders can be called, though I think in Ultimate Magic it says the caster needs to be on a different plane to the outsider at the time of casting.


Sadly given the number of ridiculous arguments out there that we see regularly on the boards, I'm going to have to say it is better that it says it. It doesn't hurt anything, if being a little redundant.

Silver Crusade Contributor

Entryhazard wrote:
Sometimes I wonder if my Aasimar Paladin can be called by some wizard.

I believe a wizard on his own demiplane can do it. There's probably some on the Abyss or in Hell that could as well.

Keep that Will save high! ^_^

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Planar Ally / Binding Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.