Action to revert back from gaseous form?


Rules Questions


A vampire in gaseous form sneaks up on the party inside obscuring mist. Can he move up to someone, change back and attack?

I do not see it mention anywhere the action required to change back and dismissing a spell says it doesn't take an action.

Scarab Sages

PRD wrote:

(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

A spell that depends on concentration is dismissible by its very nature, and dismissing it does not take an action, since all you have to do to end the spell is to stop concentrating on your turn.

It is a standard action to dismiss a spell. Only spells that require concentration are dismissable as a free action since you just stop concentrating (Concentration is a standard action).


DireMerc wrote:
I do not see it mention anywhere the action required to change back and dismissing a spell says it doesn't take an action.

Not correct:

SRD, Combat, Actions, Standard Actions wrote:

Dismiss a Spell

Dismissing an active spell is a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

Edit: so now you have two quotes from two different chapters in the official rules.


Hmm yes I misread it seems good thing I decided to check to make sure.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Apologies for the necro, but seems my question is well suited to this thread on reverting back from Gaseous Form.

Can a person who casts Gaseous Form on themselves choose to dismiss it early?

From the PRD:
"(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with "(D)," you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture."

Gaseous Form is listed as a Dismissible spell. And since it has no verbal component, you arguably need to make a gesture to dismiss it.

But once you are under the effect of Gaseous Form, are you able to make gestures? Gaseous Form notes that you "can't attack or cast spells with verbal, somatic, material, or focus components while in gaseous form." So if you can't make somatic actions, can you gesture?

The shape of your form isn't mentioned in Pathfinder, however, 3.5e noted: "A gaseous creature can move about and do the things that a cloud of gas can conceivably do". I don't see a cloud of gas being able to make gestures.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Action to revert back from gaseous form? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions