Slow spell and Things that give you additional Std or move actions actions...


Rules Questions


How does Slow work vs things like:
Mythic Amazing Initiative: free action to an additional std action
Mythic Distance Barrage: swift action, make a ranged attack at your highest bonus...
Mythic Arcane Surge: swift action, cast any one spell...
Hero Points: Extra action, gain an additional std....

You get the idea. Some of these are swift, immediate, or even free actions so are legal. But when you take a swift, immediate, or free action to gain a standard or move action are you doing a standard or move action or are you doing the action that it cost (swift, immediate, or free) :) Sorry if that was confusing.

I may be reading too much into this, but if lets say for example you use the Mythic Amazing Initiative and spend 1 MP. Is the swift action to spend the point and then you are actually executing a standard action or the standard action just takes one swift action to complete?

I searched and couldn't find anything which leads me to believe I'm just making it too complicated! :)

Thanks,


Slow spell causes staggered, everything that follows that word in that sentence (the restrictions you're asking about) is just a repeat of what staggered says.

Slow wrote:
Creatures affected by this spell are staggered and can take only a single move action or standard action each turn, but not both (nor may it take full-round actions).
Staggered wrote:
A staggered creature may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can he take full-round actions). A staggered creature can still take free, swift and immediate actions. A creature with nonlethal damage exactly equal to its current hit points gains the staggered condition.

Bolding mine. Presumably it's just reiterating what staggered means and anything that lets you bypass staggered works.


Bob Bob Bob wrote:

Slow spell causes staggered, everything that follows that word in that sentence (the restrictions you're asking about) is just a repeat of what staggered says.

Slow wrote:
Creatures affected by this spell are staggered and can take only a single move action or standard action each turn, but not both (nor may it take full-round actions).
Staggered wrote:
A staggered creature may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can he take full-round actions). A staggered creature can still take free, swift and immediate actions. A creature with nonlethal damage exactly equal to its current hit points gains the staggered condition.
Bolding mine. Presumably it's just reiterating what staggered means and anything that lets you bypass staggered works.

I guess my question is more when you use a free action to do lets say Amazing Initiative to get an extra standard action are you using just a free action ar a free action and then a standard action? If its the later then wouldn't staggered disallow it?


Specific overrides general. Amazing initiative grants you "an additional" standard action. Otherwise Amazing Initiative would never work, because you can only take a single standard action on your turn normally.


I realize the OP wrote "Std" to stand for "Standard", but that's not where my mind went when I first read the subject line.

Sorry for the derail. Carry on.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Slow spell and Things that give you additional Std or move actions actions... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions