Wheeling Charge Meachanics


Rules Questions


Wheeling Charge Feat

Prerequisites: Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack, Ride 5 ranks.

Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, your mount can make one turn of up to 90 degrees as part of the move, as long as each part of the move is at least 10 feet. You may make an attack during any part of this move. Your total movement for the round can’t exceed double your mounted speed. Allied creatures do not impede your charge, though you cannot attack from or end your move in an ally’s space.

Normal: You cannot turn when making a charge.

Basically from what I have read and interrupted in the rules, more or less lets you make a 90 degree turn which you wouldn't be able to do under normal circumstances in a charge and your allies do not impede the charge either, you just cant stop or attack on an area they occupy.

All other rules governing charges and the ride-by attack still apply.

You still have to stop(end your charge) on the nearest square or space that you can attack from that is the target of your charge.

I was just wondering if I am interrupting this correctly or is their another way the wheeling charge feat can be used and applied.

Sczarni

swordfalcon wrote:
You still have to stop(end your charge) on the nearest square or space that you can attack from that is the target of your charge.

This part is incorrect, since you can still utilize the benefits of Ride-By Attack.

Sczarni

XXXAXXE
XXXXXTX
BXXXXXX

So, for example, with the light blue representing your path, B representing where you begin your charge, E representing where you end your charge, and T representing your target, this is a legitimate charge option.

Edited to add "A", where your attack with a lance could occur from.


Nefreet wrote:

XXXAXXE

XXXXXTX
BXXXXXX

So, for example, with the light blue representing your path, B representing where you begin your charge, E representing where you end your charge, and T representing your target, this is a legitimate charge option.

Edited to add "A", where your attack with a lance could occur from.

yes you are correct, but what I meant was your charge still has to end on a square or space where you could still attack the target of your charge from even though you may have used up your attack on another non-charge target using the ride-by feat or using the benefits you gain from wheeling charge feat to attack the target of your charge during any part of the movement.

Basically saying you still have to stop your charge on a square near the target of your charge even if you don't attack them at the end of it. You just can't attack the target of the charge and then move 40ft away from them.

Sorry for my wording, but I am just making sure I understand the mechanics of this feat before I use it. If I am still misunderstanding this please explain it to me better. Any advice or help is greatly appreciated.


swordfalcon wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

XXXAXXE

XXXXXTX
BXXXXXX

So, for example, with the light blue representing your path, B representing where you begin your charge, E representing where you end your charge, and T representing your target, this is a legitimate charge option.

Edited to add "A", where your attack with a lance could occur from.

yes you are correct, but what I meant was your charge still has to end on a square or space where you could still attack the target of your charge from even though you may have used up your attack on another non-charge target using the ride-by feat or using the benefits you gain from wheeling charge feat to attack the target of your charge during any part of the movement.

Basically saying you still have to stop your charge on a square near the target of your charge even if you don't attack them at the end of it. You just can't attack the target of the charge and then move 40ft away from them.

Sorry for my wording, but I am just making sure I understand the mechanics of this feat before I use it. If I am still misunderstanding this please explain it to me better. Any advice or help is greatly appreciated.

I think I may have been interrupting the ride-by attack feat wrong, does it allow you to attack the target of your charge then move away from it and end the charge on any square you want as long as it is within double your move speed.

Sczarni

Yup.

If you charge 50ft towards your target while on horseback you can Ride-By another 50ft beyond (or insert relevant movement speeds accordingly, or course).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wheeling Charge Meachanics All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions