Wizard Questions?


Rules Questions


Its been probably two years since I played and I'm hoping to start again so I decided to roll a wizard. I honestly cant find how many spells I can actually prepare. I understand that at LVL 1 I can only cast once a day. I understand that I can choose three + my INT modifier LVL 1 spells.

The questions I have are,

1) How many spells can I actually prepare at LVL 1? Is it my entire spellbook? 3 + 4 INT giving me 7 spells to cast daily, or is it just 3 with the INT modifier just being for some extra options?

2) Same Question but with cantrips.

3) Do bonus spells per day just give me another spell slot or does that mean I get a bonus charge. So rather than being able to cast 1 spell of a certain type I could cast it twice without filling an additional spell slot.

4) Do I really get an additional free spell slot for picking an Arcane school? I saw that online and didnt see it in the core rulebook so I figured I would ask.

Grand Lodge

1) You can prepare and cast what the table of spells per day says you can, plus any given for your school, plus any given for high intelligence.

For an example, a 1st level Universalist Wizard with 18 Int has 2 first level slots, while a 1st level Conjuration Specialist Wizard with 18 Int has 3, one of which that can only be used to prepare a Conjuration spell.

2) You can prepare what the table of spells per day says you can, but you can cast them as many times per day as you want. Neither high Int nor selecting a specialist school will increase this number.

3) It gives you an extra slot of that level to prepare whatever you want.

4) It's in the CRB. Page 79, in the Wizard section:

Quote:

Each arcane school gives the wizard a number of school powers. In addition, specialist wizards receive an additional spell slot of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot. This spell must be in the

wizard’s spellbook. A wizard can select a spell modified by a metamagic feat to prepare in his school slot, but it uses up a higher-level spell slot. Wizards with the universalist school do not receive a school slot.


Thanks so much for your help!

I have no idea why that had me so confused.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard Questions? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.