
![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

As the title says - do they mesh? For example - if you had a shield enchanted with a +5 armor bonus AND as a +1 Allying weapon - could the Allying be used to give out the +5 bonus, or only the +1 bonus. The text is a bit iffy.
An allying weapon allows the wielder to transfer some or all of the weapon's enhancement bonus to one weapon being used by an ally of the wielder. The wielder must have line of sight to the intended ally. As a free action, at the start of her turn before using her weapon, the wielder chooses how to allocate her weapon's enhancement bonus. The bonus to the ally's weapon lasts until the allying weapon's wielder's next turn. The enhancement bonus from the allying weapon does not stack with the enhancement bonus on the ally's weapon (if any).
You do not suffer any penalties on attack rolls made with a shield while you are wielding another weapon. Add your shield’s enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls made with the shield as if it were a weapon enhancement bonus.
I would say definitely yes except for "made with the shield" which makes it a bit iffy.

Aelryinth RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16 |

Shield Master says you can add your shield's enhancement bonus to your to hit and damage rolls.
It says nothing about treating it as a weapon enhancement for other effects. The answer is no.
HOWEVER...you can do this trick with YOURSELF if you use a shield, and are a shield master.
Simply enhance your shield's weapon +, add allying, and then transfer ALL that bonus to your primary weapon, since you always count as your own ally. Since you are using the shield's bonus anyways, you miss out on NOTHING.
You could do the same with any off hand weapon, if, for instance, you were only going to get a standard action.
It would actually be a fairly cheap way of enhancing your primary weapon, although the gp cost means its going to be a 10th level+ use.
I will note this for my Uber Shield combination!
==Aelryinth

![]() |

HOWEVER...you can do this trick with YOURSELF if you use a shield, and are a shield master.
Simply enhance your shield's weapon +, add allying, and then transfer ALL that bonus to your primary weapon, since you always count as your own ally. Since you are using the shield's bonus anyways, you miss out on NOTHING.
True. It's an efficient use of gold if you plan to put more than +1 worth of ability on your main weapon. Though as you said - not useful until middling high levels. Of course - sans Slayer/Ranger, you can't get Shield Master until 11 anyway.
I actually already do a similar trick with monks, for whom it's more efficient, and useful earlier since the AoMF costs double to enchance, and it doesn't need a +1 to get abilities. AoMF for abilities - allying weapon for enchancement.