| 2vix |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
n00b here - Appreciate any help
I have a 5th level human rogue with a magical short-bow. She has ranks in craft bows and craft alchemy. Can she fill a raining arrow with other alchemical liquids? Can she apply a alchemical powder to an arrow head to stack its effects with the arrow? Can she coat or "blanch" something like smelling salts on the head of blunt arrow and shoot an unconscious adventurer with it? Can she craft part or all of a heavy arrow like raining or tangleshot with mithral to reduce or eliminate its weight penalty? Can she craft a bunch of these arrows back at the guild and then fill a efficient quiver with them to use on an upcoming quest? will having minor and major magic help her? Can she cast shocking grasp on a full metal arrow fitted with a thin wire rope and electrocute an enemy with it? If she takes rapid-shot, can she fire two arrows of different types simultaneously?
I have more, but ill stop there. I know I could be doing better things with her, but this stuff would be fun :) THANKS EVERYONE
| Joesi |
No. Raining arrows say nothing about being able to add anything to them, nor do regular arrows, with the obvious exception of items that state that they can be applied to weapons (like poison or weapon blanch, or alchemical silver).
Arrows cannot be mithral because they're not primarily a metal object. Something like a rain arrow would not benefit from being made from a lighter wooden special material because the weight of the arrow isn't specified, and even if it was, the reduced weight wouldn't bring it in line with a regular arrow. Much of the weight would probably be in the holy water and water's container. Lastly and most importantly, the penalty is almost certainly mentioned for balance purposes rather than realism purposes, meaning it shouldn't be possible to be bypassed or else it would be imbalanced.
Arrows can't be metal as far as I know. Besides, it wouldn't need to be metal to transfer a shocking grasp. Realistically speaking, it would not fly far at all if it was attached to a rope. Lastly, it would be breaking the intended balance of the game again by having shocking grasp not be a melee attack. Just because a target is touching another target doesn't mean both targets would be affected by a spell like shocking grasp. Spells do what they say they do. It says nothing about affecting creatures that are in contact with your target. If you cast shocking grasp in the scenario you described you'd have been casting it on the rope and the rope would be destroyed (and nothing else, because the spell doesn't say that it would do anything else).
It doesn't mean you can't do clever things in this game that aren't covered by the rules, but they need to make sense and/or not be blatantly breaking the rules or imbalanced.
If by simultaneously you mean two separate attacks both during her turn then yes two different arrows are useable; there's no reason why they wouldn't be.
If you mean launching 2 arrows in a single attack, then no. Maybe there's some sort of feat that can do so though, but I doubt it since it's kinda nonsensical. (closest thing I can think of would be cluster shot)