Deep Bogs and Grappling rules! Will the PC's drown or break free?


Rules Questions


The Bog rules state :

Bogs:
If a square is part of a shallow bog, it has deep mud or standing water of about 1 foot in depth. It costs 2 squares of movement to move into a square with a shallow bog, and the DC of Acrobatics checks in such a square increases by 2.

A square that is part of a deep bog has roughly 4 feet of standing water. It costs Medium or larger creatures 4 squares of movement to move into a square with a deep bog, or characters can swim if they wish. Small or smaller creatures must swim to move through a deep bog. Tumbling is impossible in a deep bog.

The water in a deep bog provides cover for Medium or larger creatures. Smaller creatures gain improved cover (+8 bonus to AC, +4 bonus on Reflex saves). Medium or larger creatures can crouch as a move action to gain this improved cover. Creatures with this improved cover take a –10 penalty on attacks against creatures that aren't underwater.

Deep bog squares are usually clustered together and surrounded by an irregular ring of shallow bog squares.

Both shallow and deep bogs increase the DC of Stealth checks by 2.

If a large or medium creature has another creature grappled in a deep bog and uses it's move action to crouch does this mean that the grappled creature is considered underwater? If not does the grappler creature take a -10 to it's grapple attempts?


Grapple, by itself, wouldn't force the grappled creature to 'crouch' in a bog. A pin or something similar in a bog or water could reasonably require the pinned creature to hold their breath.

Creatures in contact via a grapple, whether in a bog or not, should probably never be considered to have cover (or concealment) from each other for the purpose of subsequent grapple checks, but for other attacks I believe that if one was crouching and the other wasn't, the crouching one would have to take the penalty.


Grapple is an arm hold, you have to pin them in order to force them under water. Not just grapple.


Thanks! Both of these seem like reasonable answers

Grand Lodge

Actually, nothing about grappling, pinning, or tying someone up gives them the prone condition. They are standing the whole time. Now, if you have the Rage Power that lets you drop them prone, or have a buddy trip them, that is a different matter, but RAW, they are still standing up as long as they want. Even if they are tripped, there is nothing to force them to stay down, as standing up is a move action, and grapplers cannot take AoOs.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Deep Bogs and Grappling rules! Will the PC's drown or break free? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions