| Sandslice |
Watching a certain video series and seeing Ranzak in action for the first time, I have an odd question.
Suppose Ranzak and Jirelle are somewhere, and Ranzak explores and pulls an Ambush (or other bane that lets you explore if defeated.) Ranzak evades it onto Jirelle, who defeats it.
Who gets the extra explore?
a) Ranzak because it's his turn;
b) Jirelle because she defeated the bane;
c) Neither (the extra explore fizzles) because Jirelle would gain it but can't use it out of turn.
I *think* it's (c) per this faq; question is mainly to make sure it's not (a).
| Hawkmoon269 |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
If he evades it and someone else encounters it, no one gets the free explore. Jirelle doesn't get it because you can't explore outside your own turn. Ranzak doesn't get it because he wasn't the one that defeated the barrier. So it is (c)
It might feel funny, but there are already instances where you can encounter Ambush when it isn't your turn (summon and encounter a random barrier). Once Ranzak evades it, his encounter is over and a new encounter starts for Jirelle.
Interestingly, if Jirelle failed to defeat it, she would get to examine the deck for a monster and encounter it, since that isn't exploring.
| Sandslice |
If he evades it and someone else encounters it, no one gets the free explore. Jirelle doesn't get it because you can't explore outside your own turn. Ranzak doesn't get it because he wasn't the one that defeated the barrier. So it is (c)
It might feel funny, but there are already instances where you can encounter Ambush when it isn't your turn (summon and encounter a random barrier). Once Ranzak evades it, his encounter is over and a new encounter starts for Jirelle.
Interestingly, if Jirelle failed to defeat it, she would get to examine the deck for a monster and encounter it, since that isn't exploring.
Actually, it doesn't feel funny; it's what I expected, just more of a "whoa, wait a minute, what happens if" moment. :)