AoO ... attack action?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Is an attack of opportunity an attack action? Specifically asking for Greater Weapon of the Chosen (on phone, no link, sorry). Point to mention, gwotc does not mention standard action like, say, Vital Strike.


No.

"the attack action" is exactly what Vital Strike says. Thus it works in every situation Vital Strike does and no more.

Sczarni

claudekennilol wrote:
gwotc does not mention standard action like, say, Vital Strike.

Vital Strike states "attack action", not "standard action".

Grand Lodge

runs off and looks up vital strike..

Ah, you're right, thanks.

Sovereign Court

Looks like you want to see if Vital Strike and GWotC work together?

I have them set up in a build also and it looks like they should be legal.

Vital Strike: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage.

GWotC: When you use your deity's favored weapon to attempt a single attack with the attack action, you roll two dice for your attack roll and take the higher result.

As we all know, it takes the standard action, Attack, to use Vital Strike.

GWotC is just a rider on using that action.

So roll twice, using the higher attack roll, then roll your weapon die twice.

IMHO

Silver Crusade

In D&D 3rd ed, the phrase 'attack action' meant any weaponlike attack using the attack roll mechanic.

In PF, the definition of 'attack action' was narrowed to mean only 'attack as a standard action', to support the wording of the Vital Strike feat.

Feats and abilities written after Vital Strike (should) mean 'attack as a standard action' and therefore not apply to an AoO, but stuff written for 3rd ed would mean the former, and would work during an AoO.

Dark Archive

There is a feat from Dreamscarred Press' upcoming Path of War: Expanded book that specifically allows you to make "attack actions" when you take an AoO.

New Path of War feats wrote:

Seize the Opportunity [Combat]

Prerequisite: Combat Reflexes, BAB +1
Benefit: When you make an attack of opportunity, you can use an attack action (like vital strike) or combat maneuver (such as a bull rush, disarm or dirty trick) in place of an attack of opportunity. You still cannot move when it isn’t your turn.

It's pretty cool.

Sczarni

Interesting that they included Disarm as an option, since you can already Disarm (as well as Trip or Sunder) during an Attack of Opportunity using the regular rules.

Dark Archive

Dunno. It might be an oversight, since I pulled this from the playtest document for PoW:E's feats.

Shadow Lodge

I always thought it was an attack action, because I've seen common builds where tripping with reach weapons happens as an attack of opportunity.

Can someone quote some rules text that says you can use combat maneuvers as AoOs?

Otherwise I can't see why you couldn't use Greater Weapon of the Chosen on an AoO as an attack action. We all know there's no hard definition in the rulebook on "attack action", but it's generally defined as one of the attacks in a full attack. In an AoO, that's just confined to a melee attack.

Grand Lodge

OilHorse wrote:

Looks like you want to see if Vital Strike and GWotC work together?

I have them set up in a build also and it looks like they should be legal.

Vital Strike: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage.

GWotC: When you use your deity's favored weapon to attempt a single attack with the attack action, you roll two dice for your attack roll and take the higher result.

As we all know, it takes the standard action, Attack, to use Vital Strike.

GWotC is just a rider on using that action.

So roll twice, using the higher attack roll, then roll your weapon die twice.

IMHO

No, not my question at all. My question was if I could make a "greater weapon of the chosen" attack of opportunity, as I stated in the first post. I never questioned whether or not Vital Strike and GWotC work together.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Avatar-1 wrote:

I always thought it was an attack action, because I've seen common builds where tripping with reach weapons happens as an attack of opportunity.

Can someone quote some rules text that says you can use combat maneuvers as AoOs?

Otherwise I can't see why you couldn't use Greater Weapon of the Chosen on an AoO as an attack action. We all know there's no hard definition in the rulebook on "attack action", but it's generally defined as one of the attacks in a full attack. In an AoO, that's just confined to a melee attack.

Only Disarm, Trip, and Sunder.

Those 3 can be made "in place of an attack".

If you full attack, any or all of your attacks can be any combination of those 3.

It's the other maneuvers that require different actions (almost always a standard action of their own).

Sovereign Court

claudekennilol wrote:
OilHorse wrote:

Looks like you want to see if Vital Strike and GWotC work together?

I have them set up in a build also and it looks like they should be legal.

Vital Strike: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage.

GWotC: When you use your deity's favored weapon to attempt a single attack with the attack action, you roll two dice for your attack roll and take the higher result.

As we all know, it takes the standard action, Attack, to use Vital Strike.

GWotC is just a rider on using that action.

So roll twice, using the higher attack roll, then roll your weapon die twice.

IMHO

No, not my question at all. My question was if I could make a "greater weapon of the chosen" attack of opportunity, as I stated in the first post. I never questioned whether or not Vital Strike and GWotC work together.

Oops, my bad.

I don't actually think you can. It needs to be used during the Standard Action: Attack.

Grand Lodge

OilHorse wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:
OilHorse wrote:

Looks like you want to see if Vital Strike and GWotC work together?

I have them set up in a build also and it looks like they should be legal.

Vital Strike: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage.

GWotC: When you use your deity's favored weapon to attempt a single attack with the attack action, you roll two dice for your attack roll and take the higher result.

As we all know, it takes the standard action, Attack, to use Vital Strike.

GWotC is just a rider on using that action.

So roll twice, using the higher attack roll, then roll your weapon die twice.

IMHO

No, not my question at all. My question was if I could make a "greater weapon of the chosen" attack of opportunity, as I stated in the first post. I never questioned whether or not Vital Strike and GWotC work together.

Oops, my bad.

I don't actually think you can. It needs to be used during the Standard Action: Attack.

No worries, I just didn't remember the wording of Vital Strike when I asked and thought it was worded differently than it was. So I thought the wording was different from GWotC when at wasn't.

Sovereign Court

claudekennilol wrote:
OilHorse wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:
OilHorse wrote:

Looks like you want to see if Vital Strike and GWotC work together?

I have them set up in a build also and it looks like they should be legal.

Vital Strike: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage.

GWotC: When you use your deity's favored weapon to attempt a single attack with the attack action, you roll two dice for your attack roll and take the higher result.

As we all know, it takes the standard action, Attack, to use Vital Strike.

GWotC is just a rider on using that action.

So roll twice, using the higher attack roll, then roll your weapon die twice.

IMHO

No, not my question at all. My question was if I could make a "greater weapon of the chosen" attack of opportunity, as I stated in the first post. I never questioned whether or not Vital Strike and GWotC work together.

Oops, my bad.

I don't actually think you can. It needs to be used during the Standard Action: Attack.

No worries, I just didn't remember the wording of Vital Strike when I asked and thought it was worded differently than it was. So I thought the wording was different from GWotC when at wasn't.

Oh. You think they are the same? I see how they are different enough to allow them to work together, though it is not in the scope of your threads question.

Shadow Lodge

Nefreet wrote:

Only Disarm, Trip, and Sunder. Those 3 can be made "in place of an attack".

If you full attack, any or all of your attacks can be any combination of those 3.

It's the other maneuvers that require different actions (almost always a standard action of their own).

I know the difference between some CM's being standard actions and some being attack actions (I'm only referencing the attack actions) - but we're talking about whether an attack of opportunity is or isn't an attack action.

So if an AoO isn't an attack action, how come we can use those CM's as AoO's? Is there text for that?

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

They are written differently. AoOs have nothing to do with it.

Bull Rush wrote:
You can make a bull rush as a standard action or as part of a charge
Disarm wrote:
You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack
Grapple wrote:
As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe
Overrun wrote:
As a standard action, taken during your move or as part of a charge, you can attempt to overrun your target
Sunder wrote:
You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack
Trip wrote:
You can attempt to trip your opponent in place of a melee attack

Pay special attention to Sunder, which can be done either "as an attack action" or "in place of a melee attack".

EDIT: apologies, much formatting was done.

Shadow Lodge

I know about those - this thread is about AoOs. Re-read the original post :P

Sczarni

I don't see why it matters?

EDIT: ha, just noticed your hyperlink edit. That's hilarious.

Grand Lodge

That's exactly what he is talking about.

Combat Maneuvers, and those that can be used during an AoO.

Sczarni

This thread is about using things that require the "attack action" as "attacks of opportunity".

Those three combat maneuvers do not require the "attack action", so it's a moot point.

Sczarni

Combat maneuvers did not get discussed until many comments into the thread.

The OP was about Vital Strike and GWotC.

Shadow Lodge

Those combat maneuvers (disarm, sunder, trip) are attack actions - you can use them in iterative attacks.

Sczarni

Alright, so if we are in agreement (I just noticed your hyperlink edit), then what are we debating?

Grand Lodge

Well, I suppose it's a bit off-topic, but still on the subject of AoO's, which are part of the topic at hand.

Shadow Lodge

If you can use an attack action in an AoO, then you can also use GWotC.

Sczarni

You cannot use the "attack action" on an AoO, because that is a specific standard action.

Sczarni

Hasn't this been discussed ad nauseum before?

Shadow Lodge

That's what I'm asking - where's the reference?

Grand Lodge

All instances of "Attack Action" I have seen, refer to the Standard Action to make an attack.

An AoO, is not an action, such as Free, Swift, Immediate, Move, or Standard.

It is it's own thing.

It is, however, an attack, and anything that can be used in place of an attack, and not an "Attack Action", can be used in place of an AoO.

Sczarni

Avatar-1 wrote:
That's what I'm asking - where's the reference?

It's HERE.

"attack action, which is a specific kind of standard action"


Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

In D&D 3rd ed, the phrase 'attack action' meant any weaponlike attack using the attack roll mechanic.

In PF, the definition of 'attack action' was narrowed to mean only 'attack as a standard action', to support the wording of the Vital Strike feat.

Feats and abilities written after Vital Strike (should) mean 'attack as a standard action' and therefore not apply to an AoO, but stuff written for 3rd ed would mean the former, and would work during an AoO.

Not true at all.

Rules of the Game-WotC Official clarifications wrote:


Aggressive Nonactions: There's only one activity that falls into this category: the attack of opportunity. An attack of opportunity is similar to the attack action.....

Bull Rush: You perform a bull rush as a standard action (the attack action)....

Initially in a grapple, you grab your foe as an attack action....


Avatar-1 wrote:
If you can use an attack action in an AoO, then you can also use GWotC.

You cannot use an attack action as an AoO.

Disarm, Sunder, and Trip specify "in place of a melee attack", not "as an attack action".

An AoO is a melee attack, thus those work. It is not an attack action, so Vital Strike does not. You can Disarm/Sunder/Trip with an iterative too.

It's very different wording.

Silver Crusade

wraithstrike wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

In D&D 3rd ed, the phrase 'attack action' meant any weaponlike attack using the attack roll mechanic.

In PF, the definition of 'attack action' was narrowed to mean only 'attack as a standard action', to support the wording of the Vital Strike feat.

Feats and abilities written after Vital Strike (should) mean 'attack as a standard action' and therefore not apply to an AoO, but stuff written for 3rd ed would mean the former, and would work during an AoO.

Not true at all.

Rules of the Game-WotC Official clarifications wrote:


Aggressive Nonactions: There's only one activity that falls into this category: the attack of opportunity. An attack of opportunity is similar to the attack action.....

Bull Rush: You perform a bull rush as a standard action (the attack action)....

Initially in a grapple, you grab your foe as an attack action....

The grapple attempt is indeed an attack action in 3E...and according to the grapple rules on p156 of the 3.5 PHB:-

Quote:
Starting a grapple requires a successful melee attack roll. If you get multiple attacks, you can attempt to start a grapple multiple times (at successively lower base attack bonuses).

...showing that this attack action (like all attack actions) can be any single element of a full attack, an AoO, the attack at the end of a charge, etc.

In the Sage Advice columns, Skip Williams frequently pointed out the distinction between 'attack action' and 'standard action attack', when answering questions about grapple, sunder, bull rush, the warlock's hideous blow, and so on, all to clarify which ones were 'attack actions' and could be used in place of any attack, and which had to be used as a standard action.


The 3.5 FAQ and the blogs I posted from took from the sage advice articles. What magazine number stated the difference between an attack action, and a standard attack action?

Silver Crusade

wraithstrike wrote:
The 3.5 FAQ and the blogs I posted from took from the sage advice articles. What magazine number stated the difference between an attack action, and a standard attack action?

I don't have access to the column any more, but the answer to the warlock's hideous blow, if memory serves, says that it's a standard action not an attack action, and the answer about 'can you disarm/sunder/whatever in place of any attack' (allowing them on AoOs and full attacks) says yes because these things are attack actions not standard action attacks, IIRC.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoO ... attack action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions