[PFS] Duplicate familiar


Pathfinder Society

Sovereign Court

According to this faq you can only have one familiar in a scenario:
http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fq#v5748eaic9os6
However, the Duplicate Familiar spell copies your familiar, abit temporarily. Duplicate Familiar is on the additional resources as legal.
Can you use both familiars at the same time or is your original familiar suppressed? If it is suppressed is it for the entire scenario or just while the spell is active?

My intention is to use the spell to attach a second tumor familiar, which will remain attached until it's duration runs out. So it would not clog up the table, and typically will only aid defense (protector archetype).

5/5 5/55/5 *** Venture-Captain, Germany—Hamburg

Generally speaking, whenever a PFS-legal spell generates (by summoning or creating) extra creatures for a limited amount of time, those extras don't count against your maximum. That maximum is only for permanent creatures.

For example, you could also have an animal companion and cast 2 summon spells, so while their duration lasts you'd have at least 3 combat animals (1 permanent and 2 summoned), but you couldn't use 2 permanent companions (like a cavalier mount and a non-horse druid companion) both in combat.

Sovereign Court

Duplicate familiar is Conjuration (creation) so it is a little bit different from Conjuration(summoning).

The reason i am asking is the suppressed ruling. The pfs gm ruled that I would not be able to benefit from both at the same time, which to me is the entire intent of the spell. Both RAW and RAI. It's Specific vs General for me. I say specific is the spell, the gm ruled the PFS faq restriction overruled it.

Shadow Lodge

Considering the spell has little purpose other then giving you a second familiar, and the spell is legal you can use both familiars.

Grand Lodge 5/5 *

I see no reason you couldn't make a duplicate familiar. And thus if you had two familiars delivering touch spells (or other combat stuff) it would be fine, IMO.

But the line about "doesn't gain the bonus special ability from more than one familiar at a time" leaves some room for interpretation. At first glance I would say this refers to the +4 to initiative from the Dodo (or equivalent from other familiars), but do archetype abilities also count? I'm really not sure, I think you should be able to use them.


Does this spell allow a familiar to flirt with itself?

:)

-j

Liberty's Edge 3/5

Nothing really to add to what's already been said. The "one combat animal/familiar/eidolon" rule is intended to keep people from having two or three permanent pets, not for disallowing all summoning spells and similar effects.

I do think the spell (Duplicate Familiar) is a bit too good. My high level arcanist could summon four copies of his familiar, polymorph all of 'em with Polymorph Familiar, and murder his way through most scenarios without breaking a sweat. The only thing keeping him from doing that is that it's a) inconsiderate to the rest of the table, and b) usually not needed.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / [PFS] Duplicate familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society