Forced to share a space - what then?


Rules Questions


It can be possible that a character may be forced to share a space with another creature, and I'm wondering how to handle that.

For example, a character falls into a pit that is already full with creatures at the bottom. Could be a 5x5 pit with a medium creature, 10x10 pit with 4 medium creatures, whatever. This exact thing has come up a couple of times in my game.

So what happens? Any suggestions?


they get the Squeezing debuff.
"Squeezing

In some cases, you may have to squeeze into or through an area that isn't as wide as the space you take up. You can squeeze through or into a space that is at least half as wide as your normal space. Each move into or through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares, and while squeezed in a narrow space, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls and a –4 penalty to AC.

When a Large creature (which normally takes up 4 squares) squeezes into a space that's 1 square wide, the creature's miniature figure occupies 2 squares, centered on the line between the 2 squares. For a bigger creature, center the creature likewise in the area it squeezes into.

A creature can squeeze past a creature while moving but it can't end its movement in an occupied square.

To squeeze through or into a space less than half your space's width, you must use the Escape Artist skill. You can't attack while using Escape Artist to squeeze through or into a narrow space, you take a –4 penalty to AC, and you lose any Dexterity bonus to AC."

i know that volenteruly you cnat end your move in the same squre an other is in. but this is actuyl a question about when that happen unwilingly.


Or they could wind up on top of the creature in the pit, vertically adjacent rather than sharing a square.


I would use the specific rule of Special Movements.

Special Movement Rules

These rules cover special movement situations.

Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space

Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.

---

So Matthew got it. Being this game 3D, you will add creatures one over the other.

Probably the ones being in the bottom would be encumbered by the ones on the top of them, plus maybe the ones on the top would need an Acrobatic Check or something similar to maintain their Dexterity modifier. But this is a hypothesis for another question.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Forced to share a space - what then? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions