| Rynjin |
So, it says "while you are grappled".
Does that mean "any time you are in a Grapple and have the Grappled condition" or "Any time another creature is grappling you and has control of the grapple?"
Basically I wanna know if I can initiate the grapple and have my Natural Attack wallop harder. The Feat prerequisite (Improved Grapple) suggests yes, but the language suggests maybe no.
Aydin D'Ampfer
|
If You Are Grappled: If you are grappled, you can attempt to break the grapple as a standard action by making a combat maneuver check (DC equal to your opponent's CMD; this does not provoke an attack of opportunity) or Escape Artist check (with a DC equal to your opponent's CMD). If you succeed, you break the grapple and can act normally. Alternatively, if you succeed, you can become the grappler, grappling the other creature (meaning that the other creature cannot freely release the grapple without making a combat maneuver check, while you can). Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn't require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you. See the grappled condition for additional details. If you are pinned, your actions are very limited. See the pinned condition in Conditions for additional details.
Unfortunately, 'Grappler' is defined as 'being able to release the grapple as a free action'. So the feat only works if you are being grappled, and do not have control of the grapple. By my reading, anyway.
| Rynjin |
Which likewise doesn't make sense along with the whole Shield spikes and Lead Blades don't stack" thing but that's either here nor there.
I was just considering making my Golemoid a Grapple based character, and taking this instead of Improved Natural Attack (because it'd apply to my Armor Spikes too) seemed like a neat option.
| Polemus |
under the rules for grappling
"If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition"
"Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target."
Deadly grappler works when you are the controlling grappler! (what a crappy feat if it didn't)