UMD vs. Wand. on a 1 is the Wand inert? or can your character just not use that wand?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

a wand, or any item really. the try again line says

use magical device wrote:
Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours.

is that a general "you" meaning no-one can activate that item again for 24 hours, even someone with the spell on their spell list ( like a cleric trying to use a wand of cure light wounds that the party's rogue just rolled a 1 on )

or is it the specific "you", meaing "your character" cannot use "that item" again for 24 hours, but you could hand "that item" to the cleric, and they could use it without problem, or hand it to another UMD'er who could try to activate that item.


I'm reasonably sure that it is the specific "you" such that the party Rogue tries and fails with a 1 to use a Wand, then they can hand it off to the Party Cleric to use.


I dont known of any rules about stuff becoming inert. And the you is pretty clear. So i am with Lego on this one.


It means you(the UMD user) can't use that wand.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Keep in mind, you do not autofail skills. If your character has a 19 or above on UMD, rolling a 1 (For a total of 20, which is what is needed) doesn't matter, you still succeed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / UMD vs. Wand. on a 1 is the Wand inert? or can your character just not use that wand? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.