Bucket Brigade Barrier and Buoyancy Spell


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Grand Lodge

I was having trouble defeating the Bucket Brigade Barrier which when undefeated stays on top of the deck and must be the first exploration for any character at that location and was wondering if the Buoyancy spell could be used to get around the Barrier. Buoyancy allows the player to examine the bottom card of the location and put it on top of the deck. So my question would be is examining the card considered an exploration and thus cannot be performed until the Barrier has been defeated? thanks to any reponses


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I would personally say no, Bouyancy would not work to get rid of the face up barrier.

S&S Rulebook, page 11, with updated wording from FAQ wrote:
Sometimes a card is left faceup on the top of the location deck (for example, most barriers with the Task trait work this way). The card is still in the deck, but it can only be shuffled into the deck when the condition that caused it to be left faceup on the deck has been resolved. If such a card tells you that you must encounter it on your first exploration on a turn, then you must encounter it the first time you explore that turn. After that exploration, ignore it for the purpose of additional explorations that turn; however, it still counts as the top card of the deck for any other purpose. If multiple cards are left faceup on the same deck, you may place them in any order and encounter them in that order.

In that regard, I would rule that Buoyancy would place the bottom card on the top of the deck, but underneath any face up cards. The spell doesn't shuffle the deck per se, but it has the same end effect of making the face up card no longer on top, which goes against the fact that the card is still face up and thus would still need to be your first exploration on any given turn.

To answer your other question, examining is not counted as an exploration, so you can play it whenever you want. It would just not affect the fact that the barrier is faceup on the location deck and is your first explore for any given turn at that location.

Grand Lodge

So if I encountered the barrier with my first exploration and it was still undefeated it stays on top of the deck but lets say I had a blessing or an ally for a second exploration that turn would I be able to see and encounter the next card in location? however for the next turn the barrier still would be my first encounter cause it was undefeated?


Glebur Bruntaiden wrote:

So if I encountered the barrier with my first exploration and it was still undefeated it stays on top of the deck but lets say I had a blessing or an ally for a second exploration that turn would I be able to see and encounter the next card in location? however for the next turn the barrier still would be my first encounter cause it was undefeated?

Exactly. And it is more than encountered, it is an exploration. So the barrier would be the first card you explore (and therefore encounter).

The faceup card also limits Spyglass and other examine and return cards.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That is correct. Note also the rule says it is only encountered as your first explore on a turn, so if your first explore was at a different location and you used a power of some sort to move to the location with Bucket Brigade and explore, that would also bypass Bucket Brigade and you'd explore the next card of that location deck (leaving Bucket Brigade on top still).

Additionally, if you permanently close the location (due to beating the villain/henchman there) and Bucket Brigade is still faceup on top, it gets banished along with the rest of the location deck as you close it.

Grand Lodge

OK that helps alot. Thanks for the claricffication


Few additional questions:

1. There are characters that say "Instead of your first exploration on a turn..." who allow us to do something else instead of exploring. If I use that power and then decide to use blessing/ally to explore do I still have to encounter Bucket Brigade or do I get to encounter next card in that location deck?

2. Alahazra's Stargazer ability allow us to scry top card of location deck and then encounter it if it's a boon. Since Bucket brigade is on top, I just "wasted" a divine card, correct?


Ripe wrote:
1. There are characters that say "Instead of your first exploration on a turn..." who allow us to do something else instead of exploring. If I use that power and then decide to use blessing/ally to explore do I still have to encounter Bucket Brigade or do I get to encounter next card in that location deck?

You'd use your power in place of the first (aka "free") exploraiton. Then if you played a card to explore again, you'd encounter the Bucket Brigade. See FAQ.

Ripe wrote:
2. Alahazra's Stargazer ability allow us to scry top card of location deck and then encounter it if it's a boon. Since Bucket brigade is on top, I just "wasted" a divine card, correct?

Yup. It counts as the top card of the location deck, so that is the one you get to look at. Probably not worth doing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Bucket Brigade Barrier and Buoyancy Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion