Confused on Control Winds


Rules Questions


We've had a lot of disagreement on how Control Winds works.

I think it works as: when there wasn't a breeze/wind speed at all that a 9th level caster only could bring the wind speed up to the Strong or Severe category and that was it.

I fully believe that you can't keep increasing the wind speed on your turns, but you can change the speed down or even it's direction.

I also think that the enemies or players could negate the wind speed effects by making their Fortitude saves each round.

I also think (which was debated) that if someone that was indoors or in a cavern, could make a Wall of Force/Ice/Stone and negate that wind speed in his little area of safety until the air ran out anyway. It was argued that the wind in that area was still enchanted to move at higher speeds, which I see their point but wanted an unbiased opinion on this part.

Anyone have some input they can share with me?

Liberty's Edge

The wall of force thing:

1)
Control Winds
Area 40 ft./level radius cylinder 40 ft. high

2)
When casting a cylinder-shaped spell, you select the spell's point of origin. This point is the center of a horizontal circle, and the spell shoots down from the circle, filling a cylinder. A cylinder-shaped spell ignores any obstructions within its area.

3)
Line of Effect: A line of effect is a straight, unblocked path that indicates what a spell can affect. A line of effect is canceled by a solid barrier. It's like line of sight for ranged weapons, except that it's not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight.

You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect. You must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin of any spell you cast.

A burst, cone, cylinder, or emanation spell affects only an area, creature, or object to which it has line of effect from its origin (a spherical burst's center point, a cone-shaped burst's starting point, a cylinder's circle, or an emanation's point of origin).

So we have 3 things interacting, 1 and 2 seem to say that control wind, being a cylinder, will work even behind the wall of force.

But item 3 clearly states that it don't, as Wall of force block line of effect.
I think that 3) is the more specific rule, so it supersede 2.

- * -

Fortitude save:

Control Winds
Saving Throw Fortitude negates

and

Each round on your turn, a creature in the wind must make a Fortitude save or suffer the effect of being in the windy area. See Environment for more details.

I don't see what there is to argue here. Fortitude negates is clear.

- * -

Wind strength; I agree with you, but the spell text could be interpreted both ways.


Thank you Diego Rossi

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Confused on Control Winds All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions