
haremlord |

Can a multiclassed Wizard/Alchemist use the same spellbook for his extracts and his spells?
To be more clear, he gets a certain amount of extracts free each level. If those extracts are also wizard spells, can he include those in his memorized spells or does he need to re-write them as wizard spells in order to do that?
I know there's a discovery that allows a wizard copy from an alchemist's formulae book (is that what it's called?) but assuming he doesn't have that yet.

Elicoor |
Sorry for you. A formulae book is not a spellbook... and you cannot use the same book for both extracts and spells. And even if you could, you'd have to have the wizard version and the alchemist version of the spell take each the appropriate number of pages in the book.
And even with the discovery, you can only copy the spell from a formulae book into a spellbook, you cannot prepare the spell from it.

haremlord |

Gotcha.
What about the cost of copying formulae when creating an alchemist of greater than 1st level? For wizards, there's the materials cost plus the access fee. If the extract is a wizard extract, is it appropriate to use the wizard spellbook access fee if lower? Or should it always use the alchemist price?

Dave Justus |

As far as the physical medium, I don't see any difference between a formulae book and a spellbook. Indeed, I don't see 'formulae' book even listed as an item you can buy, so unless you want to assume that an alchemist can only have the one they start with an it is irreplaceable if you lose it, they must be the same thing. (although the concept of an alchemist training an apprentice and then murdering him to get an otherwise unavailable book to write more formulae in as quite amusing.)
I also don't see any reason that a given book couldn't contain both spells and formulae. Any given page would be one or the other, but there is no reason I can see why you couldn't have both types in a single volume. The terms formulae book and spellbook seem to be what they are typically called based on what they typically hold, but not really rules based.
However, each page is still its own thing. A wizard can't memorize a formulae written in a book as a spell, and an alchemist cannot prepare an extract from a written spell. You would need to copy them in the book to be able to use them either way.
When it comes to magic items like a blessed book the question is a bit more obscure. I tend to believe that it should apply to formulae as well, but that is debatable.

Joesi |
Alchemists can copy wizard spells just fine, but that doesn't mean he can use a wizard spellbook to make extracts. Wizards cannot copy alchemist formulae without the arcane discovery Alchemical Affinity, and even then they have to copy it first before using it as a wizard spell.
An alchemist can also add formulae to his book just like a wizard adds spells to his spellbook, using the same costs and time requirements. An alchemist can study a wizard's spellbook to learn any formula that is equivalent to a spell the spellbook contains. A wizard, however, cannot learn spells from a formula book. An alchemist does not need to decipher arcane writings before copying them.
Like Dave said, if you wanted you could probably keep extracts and spells in the same book, but that wouldn't change anything. Spellbook slots and formula book slots are unique to the respective classes and cannot be shared.
That said, if you really wanted, you could ask the DM if you could share available spells between the two classes, but that would be a house rule. Nothing particularly overpowered about it, just saves a bit of time/gold for not having to find/copy spells on your character's own time. If you do go for that house rule, I'd recommend the requirement of getting Alchemical Affinity as a tax before being able to do it.
haremlord |

Sorry for the thread necromancy, but I assume the same is true for a Magus/Wizard?
A magus can learn spells from a wizard’s spellbook, just as a wizard can from a magus’s spellbook.
Meaning a multiclassed magus/wizard would need two copies of every spell that is on both spell lists if he wants to be able to cast them with either class?