Touch spell clarification.


Rules Questions


Can a character holding a touch spell active deliver that touch spell through an unarmed strike or natural attack, or must it be done through a touch attack? Does using an unarmed or natural attack to deliver the touch spell require the Magus' Spellstrike ability?

I'm sure this is spelled out somewhere, but I can't seem to put my finger on it. If someone could direct me to where in the rules or FAQ that this is stated, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Touch Spells in Combat

Second half of the third paragraph down:
"Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge."


Derp. I swear I read that paragraph like 10 times last night. Probably should have been asleep already.

Thanks.


The importance difference is the character must decide if the attack is being resolved as a touch attack or not.

Liberty's Edge

And the other important point being that you couldn't make that attack the same turn you cast the spell.

Grand Lodge

HangarFlying wrote:
And the other important point being that you couldn't make that attack the same turn you cast the spell.

You can't make that natural attack or the unarmed attack that turn (in general, there are obviously ways around it). You still get the free touch attack from casting a touch spell.

Liberty's Edge

claudekennilol wrote:
HangarFlying wrote:
And the other important point being that you couldn't make that attack the same turn you cast the spell.
You can't make that natural attack or the unarmed attack that turn (in general, there are obviously ways around it). You still get the free touch attack from casting a touch spell.

Yes, I should have clarified what "that" meant.


I'd argue that if you are having your familiar deliver the touch spell for you, the familiar could make a natural attack to deliver it in the same round that the spell is cast.

But yeah, familiar aside, the idea is that you can deliver via touch only the first round, and in subsequent rounds you can use either touch attacks or unarmed attacks or natural attacks.

The Monk/Wizard with a Chill Touch spell is pretty sweet in this regard, since you get multiple deliveries with that spell, plus flurry.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch spell clarification. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions