Natural attacks and AoOs when using a ranged weapon


Rules Questions


If a creature has natural weapons, but has fired a crossbow for the round, does it still get an AoO with its natural weapon?


Should be in rules forum. It depends on whether the creature is using a natural weapon that is not associated with the limbs it is using to fire the crossbow, or whether it removed one of its hands from the crossbow as a free action after firing before the end of its turn. If the answer to either of these is yes, then it can take an AoO with that natural weapon out of its turn.


Thanks. And my bad for not putting this in the rules forum.

Liberty's Edge

I don't see why not.


HangarFlying wrote:
I don't see why not.

The only reason it couldn't would be if its natural weapons consist entirely of claws, and it didn't, for some reason, take at least one of the clawed hands off the crossbow before ending its turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Natural attacks and AoOs when using a ranged weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions