Doubleshot Pepperbox


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

We found a bit of stray text from an earlier draft got embedded into the final version of the loot weapon Doubleshot Pepperbox in S&S6.

For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Dexterity or Ranged skill + 1d6+2; you may additionally bury this card and up to 3 other cards to add 2d6 for each card you bury. If you did not bury this card, roll 1d6, or 1d12 if you are proficient with weapons; on a 1, or on a 1–4 if you buried any cards to add damage, shuffle this card into your deck.

You can't bury other cards to add damage without burying the pistol itself, so the bolded "if" statement can never be true. So we're deleting that phrase. The inevitable FAQ entry will be something like (Vic wordsmithing to follow):

The Doubleshot Pepperbox seems a lot more likely to be shuffled into my deck if I buried it. How exactly is that possible?
It isn't. If it's buried, it's buried.
Resolution: On Doubleshot Pepperbox, delete the phrase "or on a 1–4 if you buried any cards to add damage".

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added to FAQ.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I suppose the 1-4 could possibly have come up if one used Lirianne's power to bury another card in place of the Pepperbox. Then again, as long as she ended up with one other card in her hand, she could hypothetically avoid the greater chance of a shuffle, too.


I had thought of that as well at first, but if Lirianne buries another card it counts as having buried the firearm, so she would not even make the shuffle roll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Doubleshot Pepperbox All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion