Cao Phen
|
The item states that "If a bard uses the horn to start a bardic performance, all effects of that performance are calculated as if the bard were 6 levels higher."
Now is this a constant effect to all performances and can be used throughout the day, or is it applied only once per day, as part of the first portion of the effect?
| SlimGauge |
I read that as if just anyone blows the horn, you get the first effect.
If a BARD blows the horn (starting a bardic performance) you get the first effect PLUS the performance with a boosted bard level. Note that the performance ends as usual for the bard, but the first effect persists for 10 minutes regardless.
I could easily be wrong, however.
| Cuuniyevo |
A horn can be used as a musical instrument, and I would assume that this particular horn could be used in that manner even when its 'once per day' power was already used up. It doesn't say that the bardic performance uses that charge, and it doesn't say that there is a limit to it, so I would rule that, as written, you could use it for every single performance all day long. +6 seems powerful for its price, but consider what that actually means: +3 to some DC's, +1 to your Inspire Courage, +1 (sometimes +2, depending on your level) to your Inspire Competence, maybe 1 or 2 extra targets for Inspire Greatness if you're at the right level, +6 hp on your Soothing Performance at level 12… These are not game-breaking effects.