Are the abilities of a magic item considered a "supernatural ability?"


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Specifically, I am wondering if a Flame of Rage's ranged touch attack could be utilized with a Conductive weapon.

Conductive wrote:
A conductive weapon is able to channel the energy of a spell-like or supernatural ability that relies on a melee or ranged touch attack to hit its target (such as from a cleric's domain granted power, sorcerer's bloodline power, oracle's mystery revelation, or wizard's arcane school power).
Supernatural Ability wrote:

Supernatural Abilities (Su)

These can't be disrupted in combat and generally don't provoke attacks of opportunity. They aren't subject to spell resistance, counterspells, or dispel magic, and don't function in antimagic areas.

While this defines the traits of a supernatural ability, it doesn't say anything about what makes an ability qualify as one. Anyone aware of any rules defining what does and does not constitute a supernatural ability? (And if a magic item's abilities like this one aren't supernatural, then what are they?)


Generally, supernatural abilities are denoted with an (su).

This feat doesn't say that it functions as a supernatural ability, so I can't see why it would count as one.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Does the magic item say it is a supernatural ability? If not and it doesn't have a "Su" after it somewhere, it isn't a supernatural ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are the abilities of a magic item considered a "supernatural ability?" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions