Limited wish (and planar binding)


Rules Questions


Question: Does limited wish duplicating planar binding actually do anything without the magic circle spells? The relevant text that concerns me is in the planar binding series of spells (see link):
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/spells/planarBinding.html#planar-binding

Quote:
“Casting this spell attempts a dangerous act: to lure a creature from another plane to a specifically prepared trap… To create the trap, you must use a magic circle spell, focused inward.”

This leads me to question, if you don’t have a magic circle spell, and cast planar binding, if the spell effectively fails because you don’t have the ‘trap’, and nothing actually happens.

YIDM


It would still call a creature. They just wouldn't be trapped.


Artoo wrote:
It would still call a creature. They just wouldn't be trapped.

That seems like a reasonable interpretation, based on the language of both spells. Just concerned me when it said you "must" use a magic circle spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Limited wish (and planar binding) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions