Spirit Magic


Rules Questions


The Shaman class gains the spirit magic class feature, which allows them to spontaneously cast a limited number of spells from the spirit they have chosen. You also gain the spells on your wandering spirits list when you gain the wandering spirit class feature.

My question is, are these spells considered spells known for item use and crafting? Specifically for potions, on the crafting side, as the ruling seems to be that you can't just up the crafting DC by 5 to compensate for missing prerequisites when making potions, scrolls, wands, or staves.

And for the item use side, can a shaman use a wand of enlarge person only when that spell is provided by a spirit?

Does the spells gained from your permanent spirit differ from the ones gained by the daily chosen wandering spirit?

I have found nothing indicating any which way this would go, but I would think it goes like this:

All the spells on the shamans spell list are, of course, spells known. The spells from your chosen spirit are also spells known. The spells from your wandering spirit are only known so long as that spirit is chosen.


Every single day of crafting, someone must cast the required spell called out by the recipe. So if the Shaman ensures they have the necessary spells available for the duration of the crafting effort and expends all necessary spell slots and class uses and whatever, then they can be used for crafting.

As for wands, it depends on the wording. You can use a wand without UMD if the wand is for a spell which appears on your spell list. I'm not sure if spirit magic specifically says the spells from your spirit act as if they are on your spell list.

The best case scenario is as you state, you know the spells so long as you have a spirit from which you can draw the spell. Once that spirit is gone (the wandering spirit, specifically), you no longer have access to its spells.


I have continued to look, but it doesn't seem to be written anywhere. I am just going to go with my idea in the OP.


Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber

Not where does it say that spirit magic spells are added to you spell list, so no you can't use them that way RAW. RAI I would be fine with that

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spirit Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions