Harrowed Summoning & Eidolons


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I was unable to find this addressed previously, which surprised me.
The Harrowed Summoning feat in The Harrow Handbook (p 14) states, "When you cast a conjugation (summoning) spell or use a spell-like ability to summon one or more creatures, you can draw two random cards from a complete harrow deck you own." The feat then describes how these drawn cards affect the creature summoned.

It seems to me that the Summoner should be able to use this feat when summoning his eidolon for the day. The Eidolon class feature doesn't specify that the standard 1-minute ritual to summon his eidolon is a spell or spell-like ability. However, there is a class feature Summon Monster 1, which is very clearly labeled spell-like. Part of this class feature states, "Drawing upon this ability uses up the same power as the summoner uses to call his eidolon." This seems to indicate that the standard ritual is also spell-like.

I feel sure that Harrowed Summoning will affect the Summon Monster class feature, and obviously any summon monster spells, as well as the spell Summon Eidolon, would be affected. The uncertainty I have is with the "daily" ritual. Any input or clarification would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!


So, found this old thread and I have the same question...

Would the Harrowed Summoning feat apply to the Eidolon? Augment Summoning applies to it based on what I have found in these forums but Harrowed Summoning is worded differently.

Can any fill in the gaps on this?

Thanks.


the feat works, like Augment Summoning, with the Summon Monster spell-like ability of the Summoner, but conjuring the eidolon is not such ability. On the other hand, the Summoner has a spell called Summon Eidolon that calls your eidolon temporarily, and that spell can be modified by those feats

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Harrowed Summoning & Eidolons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.