Spell levels for Spells not classically on Spell list


Rules Questions


So this may be a terrible stupid question but I'm having trouble finding any clue to an answer. It came about from Witches and Patron spells and about what level those spells gained are. It says what lvl you gain that spell at but not necessary what level that spell is. I went back farther to find an answer and it leads me to a good example. Bloodline spells and Sorcerers, A Celestial sorcerer gains bless at 3rd lvl but what level do they cast it at? Is it just the standard Cleric lvl? Seems strange since a lot of spells have variable spell lvls for different classes. Another example is the Couatl form Bestiary 1 cast spells as a 9th lvl sorcerer but can cast from the cleric spell list yet Cure Light Wounds is a 2nd lvl spell? Help, brain itches.


I think it uses the highest level of spells you can cast when you gain it. Example: Stone mystery oracle gains Wall of Stone (normally a 5th level spell) at 8th level (when her highest spell level is 4th.) Therefore, she uses 4th level spell slots to cast the spell.

So, the Celestial sorcerer would cast Bless as a first level spell, since that's the highest level spells she can cast when she gains it.


RumpinRufus wrote:

I think it uses the highest level of spells you can cast when you gain it. Example: Stone mystery oracle gains Wall of Stone (normally a 5th level spell) at 8th level (when her highest spell level is 4th.) Therefore, she uses 4th level spell slots to cast the spell.

So, the Celestial sorcerer would cast Bless as a first level spell, since that's the highest level spells she can cast when she gains it.

Got a feeling it might be something like that, seems to be some correlation between bloodline spells and 1 lvl later they gain a new level of spell cast. Just wish it wasn't so vauge


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The Patron Spells are cast at the witch's caster level which is usually equal to your witch level unless you have something that modifies it,

So a 3rd level witch normally casts all of their spells at 3rd level. If my Patron was Elements then he could cast Shocking Grasp and do 3d6 damage, etc.

Edit: Sorry, I misread the question. I f you get the spell at 8th level, then it is a 4th level spell for you. If you get it at 4th then it is a 3rd level spell, etc. Sorry for the above confusion...


What RumpingRufus said.

The couatl "mystery" is easily resolved by checking couatl's entry on PRD. It does not have cure light wounds, it has cure moderate wounds. As PRD always contain newest errata I assume that the (older) printing of Bestiary you have contained an error that was later corrected.


Drejk wrote:

What RumpingRufus said.

The couatl "mystery" is easily resolved by checking couatl's entry on PRD. It does not have cure light wounds, it has cure moderate wounds. As PRD always contain newest errata I assume that the (older) printing of Bestiary you have contained an error that was later corrected.

No, I'm just bad at reading -.-


Hendelbolaf wrote:

The Patron Spells are cast at the witch's caster level which is usually equal to your witch level unless you have something that modifies it,

So a 3rd level witch normally casts all of their spells at 3rd level. If my Patron was Elements then he could cast Shocking Grasp and do 3d6 damage, etc.

Edit: Sorry, I misread the question. I f you get the spell at 8th level, then it is a 4th level spell for you. If you get it at 4th then it is a 3rd level spell, etc. Sorry for the above confusion...

Sorry, if you get a spell at 4th class level then it's second spell level. Third level spells are gained at 5th level for clerics, druids, witches, wizards, 6th level for arcanists, oracles, and sorcerers, 7th level for bards, inquisitors, magi, and summoners, and 13th level for bloodragers, paladins, and rangers.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Kikuto.yena wrote:
Another example is the Couatl form Bestiary 1 cast spells as a 9th lvl sorcerer but can cast from the cleric spell list yet Cure Light Wounds is a 2nd lvl spell? Help, brain itches.

The Couatl has Cure Moderate Wounds as a 2nd level spell not Cure Light Wounds. So, it would heal 2d8+9 points of damage.

Just keep Caster Level and Spell Level as two separate concepts.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Drejk wrote:
Hendelbolaf wrote:

The Patron Spells are cast at the witch's caster level which is usually equal to your witch level unless you have something that modifies it,

So a 3rd level witch normally casts all of their spells at 3rd level. If my Patron was Elements then he could cast Shocking Grasp and do 3d6 damage, etc.

Edit: Sorry, I misread the question. I f you get the spell at 8th level, then it is a 4th level spell for you. If you get it at 4th then it is a 3rd level spell, etc. Sorry for the above confusion...

Sorry, if you get a spell at 4th class level then it's second spell level. Third level spells are gained at 5th level for clerics, druids, witches, wizards, 6th level for arcanists, oracles, and sorcerers, 7th level for bards, inquisitors, magi, and summoners, and 13th level for bloodragers, paladins, and rangers.

That is correct! Sorry, fat fingers on a little iPhone!

2nd level bonus = 1st level spell
4th level bonus = 2nd level spell
etc...


Relevant OotS strip.


Drejk wrote:
Relevant OotS strip.

Heh, and now my day will be eaten up by this new comic and xkcd which it reminded me of. Thanks for the info.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell levels for Spells not classically on Spell list All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions