Small question on specialist wizards and UMD


Rules Questions


So, I have a minor question: For items that require a wizard of a specific specialty, like Amulet of Magecraft (says user needs to be universalist) or Spectacles of Annihilation (says same for transmuters), could a wizard of a different specialization use UMD to use those items without being a universalist or transmuter?


The Amulet of Magecraft has to be the bonded object of a universalist wizard so absolutely not.

As for the spectacles, that relies a lot more on your DM. Some will allow it while other won't. And I can even see some DMs having the first effect be for transmuters only while anyone can spontaneously cast disintegrate once per day in place of another spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Small question on specialist wizards and UMD All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.