Breath weapon and sneak attack


Rules Questions


Question: Can a character gain precision-based damage with a breath weapon (a supernatural ability,) spell, or spell-like ability, assuming that all other requirements for sneak attacks are met?


No. Breath weapons do not have an attack roll. Sneak attack requires you to make an attack that involves an attack roll. Which is why you can't sneak attack with a fireball unless you are a 10th level arcane trickster.


Claxon, you are correct, but I believe you may have misinterpreted the phrasing of his question.

No, you cannot sneak attack with a breath weapon that does not require an attack roll.

However, you can sneak attack with supernatural abilities, spells, and spell-like abilities that do have attack rolls.


Claxon and Avoron answered the question; thank you much!


Yes, if an attack has an attack roll, and you meet the other requirements for sneak attack then you can sneak attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Breath weapon and sneak attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions