2WF and Buckler - Why does penalty apply to all attacks?


Rules Questions


Why does the -1 applies to all attacks while 2WFigthing?

You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons.

Does it seem logical to you? Your main hand is not affected at all by the buckler, yet you still suffer a penalty for using one.

Sczarni

Removing the parentheses wrote:
You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon, but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so.

It's just for the weapon wielded using your shield arm.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:
Removing the parentheses wrote:
You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon, but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so.
It's just for the weapon wielded using your shield arm.

Oh, so using TWF feat it would be -2/-3 then?


Sounds right to me, from what I am understanding.

Sczarni

Letric wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Removing the parentheses wrote:
You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon, but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so.
It's just for the weapon wielded using your shield arm.
Oh, so using TWF feat it would be -2/-3 then?

Indeed.

And if you had a Claw/Claw/Bite character, your attacks would be at +0/+0/-1.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 2WF and Buckler - Why does penalty apply to all attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions