Magic Circle Clarification


Rules Questions


Magic circle says: "A magic circle against evil can be focused inward rather than outward. When focused inward, the spell binds a nongood called creature (such as those called by the lesser planar binding, planar binding, and greater planar binding spells) for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle"

And also: "A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell"

But if you cast Magic Circle and have to cast a calling spell in the next round, you cannot cast Dimensional Anchor. Am i understanding this wrong or it's errata?

Shadow Lodge

The wording is imprecise, but you cast Magic Circle, then one round later Dimensional Anchor, then one round after that the calling spell.

It is implied in the second line "allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell" without interfering with your ability to complete the calling.

It's perhaps best to think of the dimensional anchor as extending the casting time of the circle itself to add an extra layer of protection.


Weirdo wrote:


It's perhaps best to think of the dimensional anchor as extending the casting time of the circle itself to add an extra layer of protection.

Now that you mention it, makes perfect sense, thank you!


Two questions: The spell has a listed effect of a ten foot radius emanation, but the material component is a three foot diameter circle of powdered silver. What is the price of the silver and does the effective area of the binding on called creatures use the three foot diameter or the ten foot radius? The first option would appear to make the spell less than useful when calling any creature of medium or larger size categories.


Unpriced components have negligible value and are contained in the standard spell component pouch.


omegamage wrote:
Two questions: The spell has a listed effect of a ten foot radius emanation, but the material component is a three foot diameter circle of powdered silver. What is the price of the silver and does the effective area of the binding on called creatures use the three foot diameter or the ten foot radius? The first option would appear to make the spell less than useful when calling any creature of medium or larger size categories.

1-. As long as the component isn't priced in the spell description or component information, cost is considered negligible and a common component all casters have easily available.

2-. The spell effect has a 10ft radius. It's the silver sprinked circle used as material component the one that has to have a 3ft diameter.

Grand Lodge

omegamage wrote:
does the effective area of the binding on called creatures use the three foot diameter or the ten foot radius? The first option would appear to make the spell less than useful when calling any creature of medium or larger size categories.

Traditionally, you'd draw a big rough circle for your demon to appear in and a small, heavily warded circle to protect yourself.


so the 10ft emanation is generally outward. Sprinkle a bit of silver around the target in his square, cast, and viola a barrier that radiates out to 10ft.
You can do it inward and that would require you make a circle with the (unpriced) silver powder to the desired radius up to 10ft as the spell talks about breaking/crossing the circle of silver. Maybe the spell pushes it out to 10ft... but I'd leave it to the caster to define.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Circle Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions