Summoning Order of Operations


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

We all know that when casting SM or SNA that you can summoning 1d3 creatures of one level lower or 1d4+1 creatures from two levels lower.

However my question is: When summoning multiple creatures do you choose which creature to summon first and then roll the dice to determine how many or the other way around?

For instance, say I cast SM IV to summon 1d3 monsters from the SM III list. What I want is 3 Aurauchs so that they can use their Stampede ability (requiring, three or more of them). But, if I roll less than 3, I'd rather have something else, like leopards or whatever.
So can I roll first and THEN pick the creature. Or do I have to pick first and then roll.

The Exchange

It is my understanding that you have to pick what you are summoning first. At least that's how my table always ruled it.

Sczarni

Tell the GM, "I wish to summon 1d4+1 <creatures>".

I don't see where order of operations comes into play.


Nefreet wrote:

Tell the GM, "I wish to summon 1d4+1 <creatures>".

I don't see where order of operations comes into play.

Because the creatures he'd like to summon are dependent on how many of them he would get.

Pick first then roll is always my understanding, because you always declare your targets (where you're going to aim a Fireball, for example) before you do any rolling for results (whether that be damage or numbers)


By choosing the creature you choose how you are using that spell. By using that spell in a certain manner, whether or not you have to roll is determined.

So you choose and then roll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoning Order of Operations All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions