
Metanolman |
I have a question about Oloch's 'Shield of Gorum' - power: when another character at your location is dealt damage, you may reveal an armor to reduce that damage by 1.
Can I use the this power to reduce damage to multiple heroes if the damage is coming from the same source - i.e. if a hero loses her check against a hill giant and there are many heroes at the same location? When a hero takes damage, is it considered as a separate step from other heroes taking damage or does all damage fall in to the 'attemp the check' -step?
I know that each player may activate any power no more than once during each step.

Hawkmoon269 |

I'd say yes, because in the "Taking Damage" section it says this:
When you are dealt damage, you and other players may play cards and use powers that reduce or otherwise affect the specific type of damage you’re being dealt...Each player may play no more than one of each card type to affect damage to the same character from the same source.
I know that second sentence quoted doesn't say "or use powers" but given the context I think the idea applies. I see this as if the player that failed the check takes damage as part of "attempt the check" and the others take damage sort of outside that step, and instead these rules apply.
Just my opinion.

Metanolman |
Ok, thanks. This is my understanding of the power too. I'm still pondering whether to take Battle Chaplain or Shield of Gorum.
I have also wondered does the other Shield of Gorum -power, which allows Oloch to discard (or recharge) armors or weapons instead of burying them, work with a pepperbox. Can he get d4 + 5d6 without burying a single card with this power? The reasoning here is that this power is automatic and the 'one power per step' -rule wouldn't apply.

Hawkmoon269 |

Yes, it should. That power is not dependent on him playing the armor. See this thread for some confirmation. The same idea applies to someone playing the Rage spell on Oloch. It is not a Divine spell, so Oloch probably won't want to carry it around, but if he has a friend to cast it on him, he can use the Rage power to discard/recharge the "raged" cards instead of burying them if they are armor or weapons.

![]() |

I have a question about Oloch's 'Shield of Gorum' - power: when another character at your location is dealt damage, you may reveal an armor to reduce that damage by 1.
Can I use the this power to reduce damage to multiple heroes if the damage is coming from the same source - i.e. if a hero loses her check against a hill giant and there are many heroes at the same location? When a hero takes damage, is it considered as a separate step from other heroes taking damage or does all damage fall in to the 'attemp the check' -step?
I know that each player may activate any power no more than once during each step.
This FAQ entry may shed some light on the issue.