Water and Line of Effect


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Does water, such as Aqueous Orb block line of effect? I need a reference if anybody knows where that rule is. As far as I can see water does not block line of effect just has different rules according to the aquatic combat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"A completely submerged creature has total cover against opponents on land unless those opponents have freedom of movement effects. Magical effects are unaffected except for those that require attack rolls (which are treated like any other effects) and fire effects."

"The surface of a body of water blocks line of effect for any fire spell."

So water doesn't block line of effect, except for fire spells. And spells that require attack rolls cast from outside of the water do not effect someone completely submerged in water, because that individual has total cover.

Aqueous Orb specifies that it provides cover, not total cover. So it just provides an AC bonus. But the surface of the water still blocks line of effect for fire effects.

Scarab Sages

Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Water and Line of Effect All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions