|
27 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
Righteous Might provides DR/Evil or DR /Good to Clerics based on whether they channel positive or negative energy, and Oracles based on whether they cast Cure or Inflict spells. Do Inquisitors get DR / Good or Evil with the spell, and if so, based on what criteria?
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
The rules only say "You gain DR 5/evil (if you normally channel positive energy) or DR 5/good (if you normally channel negative energy)."
Was there an FAQ for how it interacts with Oracles?
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
wraithstrike wrote: The rules only say "You gain DR 5/evil (if you normally channel positive energy) or DR 5/good (if you normally channel negative energy)."
Was there an FAQ for how it interacts with Oracles?
Yeah, it ties it to whether they picked cure or inflict for their free spells known.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
I found the FAQ. Inquisitors don't have positive or negative energy thing going for them in any form. They may not get that benefit of the spell. I will press the FAQ button.
|
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
RAW, you don't gain DR at all.
House rule, if you are good or worship a good deity, DR/evil. If you are evil or worship an evil deity, DR/good. If you are a neutral inquisitor of a neutral deity, you make a choice about whether you wish to take DR/good or DR/evil, and stick with that choice for the rest of the game.
|
2 people marked this as a favorite.
|
wraithstrike wrote: I found the FAQ. Inquisitors don't have positive or negative energy thing going for them in any form. They may not get that benefit of the spell. I will press the FAQ button. Judgment being sacred or profane is alignment based, so that's the logical comparison. RAW they don't get it, but RAI its clear that the comparison holds.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
wraithstrike wrote: I found the FAQ. Inquisitors don't have positive or negative energy thing going for them in any form. They may not get that benefit of the spell. I will press the FAQ button. Thank you Wraithstrike. I think my GM may be leaning towards not letting Inquisitors have the DR, at least partially because there is an FAQ for Oracles (as in, "If they called out Oracles also get it, but don't call out Inquisitors, that must be a deliberate choice."). So I'd appreciate anyone else who can add to the FAQ. If it's a deliberate decision, so be it. If it's an error of omission, I'd hate for Inquisitors to lose out because of it.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
Gregory Price, FAQ's typically just "answer a question". FAQs do not typically volunteer answers to questions not asked.
My guess is that someone asked about Oracles and thus it got a FAQ.
Unless someone asks the question regarding Inquisitors there is not going to be a FAQ covering them.
In short, it is probably not deliberate and Wraithstrike's solution is probably what the FAQ would use.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
Just found a prestige class in Paizo People Of The Sand supplement called the Living Monolith that grants Righteous Might with DR based on PC alignment:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/prestige-classes/other-paizo/i-m/living-mon olith
Given this prestige class neither requires nor grants channeling, cure/inflict casting, or even spellcasting, I'd argue that it provides more "evidence" to support the validity of Wraithstrike's and Gauss's suggested houserule that an Inquisitor should also get DR with the spell, type based on sacred or profane judgements. Especially, as Inquisitors have no other spells that I know of, anyway that are "nerfed" / don't work for them as they do for other classes.
Wish Paizo would respond to FAQ & rule on this...Also for Druids with the Growth Domain, which have a similar lack of clarity.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
I agree that RAW it doesn't. But the Inquisitor didn't exist when Righteous Might was created. Considering that it has been put on the Inquisitor spell list, I also believe that RAI it should work either based on alignment, or better based on the type of judgement (sacred or profane) just like Gregory proposed....
|
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
Cuttler wrote: I agree that RAW it doesn't. But the Inquisitor didn't exist when Righteous Might was created. Considering that it has been put on the Inquisitor spell list, I also believe that RAI it should work either based on alignment, or better based on the type of judgement (sacred or profane) just like Gregory proposed.... Thank you Cuttler. Any other thoughts by anyone else? I honestly am trying to get as many people to weigh in as possible, or to get Paizo to respond to the FAQ. I've seen this spell cause DM issues for both Inquisitors and Druids, and would appreciate either more POV's or clarity from Paizo.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
Oh come on! This is so obviously an oversight. RAW you absolutely don't get the DR as an inquisitor and/or druid, but I seriously doubt that it was meant to be RAI.
Personally speaking I'd feel like any GM that ruled that it didn't give DR was a bit of a tool. At least in a homegame... In PFS they have to stick to RAW.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
Reviving this in hopes get more FAQ requests. My GM still wants a Paizo ruling!
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
That's not really fair of your GM. You can't control whether Paizo responds and they often don't when a reasonable solution has already been offered - Calth's suggestion is a very good one, and the Living Monolith sets a very good precedent otherwise.
It's your GM's job to pick a ruling and stick with it.
For what it's worth, I personally do not believe that you're intended to lack DR just because the CRB (and the Oracle FAQ) didn't take into account the variety of characters who might gain access to the spell.
|
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
I came here to find out the same thing, but about Witches with the Strength patron.
So a blanket ruling on how this works if you don't channel energy would be nice :)
|
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
For witches, druids, and inquisitors with access to Righteous Might I've always seen the DR allowed. Inquisitors are easiest, tied to sacred and profane bonuses, Druids and Witches to alignment, with neutrals picking once and sticking with it. It's logical and fair.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
Frigate wrote: For witches, druids, and inquisitors with access to Righteous Might I've always seen the DR allowed. Inquisitors are easiest, tied to sacred and profane bonuses, Druids and Witches to alignment, with neutrals picking once and sticking with it. It's logical and fair. I agree, that's how other similar things work for divine classes that don't get channeling by default. Such as Oracles determining whether they get spontaneous cure or inflict spells.
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
I've seen this question come up in 2 campaigns involving Druids. Both Gm's ruled that the DR should come with the spell. From a RAI standpoint, it seems obvious, fair, and reasonable, and since it's a 5th level spell for every class that gets it, there's downside to not allowing the DR. Otherwise the spell becomes an underpowered (and so probably unused) choice versus most other 5th level options. On the other hand, what downside is there to allowing the DR?
Recent threads in Rules Questions
|