Destined for Greatness - What is "Expendable"


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am looking to use the trait "Destined for Greatness" in PFS, and was hoping to get a clarification on the wording.
The trait states that the "Expendable" contents are restored to you at no charge. If I have a class feature that makes an item in the kit "Expendable", do they get refilled when I go to town? What about Potions and Scrolls?


I don't own the Dungeoneer's Guide, so I'm going off of d20pfsrd, and it says you choose one kit (presumably from this list) worth 300gp or less, and it applies to that kit only.

What class feature are you talking about, and are you talking about the Seance Kit? It seems to be the only kit on the list that has scrolls AND is less than 300gp. Considering the limited use of Augury and Prestidigitation, I see no problem with Destined for Greatness working as written.

Silver Crusade

There is a Witch Archetype (Cartomancer) that gains the feat Deadly Dealer at second level, as well as Arcane Strike, but only to throw cards. The seance deck is the precise kit I was looking at, as it includes a deck of Harrow Cards.
At 2nd level, as a Cartomancer, any Harrow cards that I throw are destroyed. Does that make the cards expendable? Do I refill the deck every time that I go to town?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I see no reason why not. The level 3 class feature grants the ability to no longer expend them, so you would only have to worry about it for a single level, which almost makes it a moot point. Since the class calls out the inability to prepare spells without a full deck, I assume they intend for you to only throw regular (cheaper) cards. If, in a pinch, you wanted to throw one of your Harrow cards, yes, you should have no problem using Destined for Greatness to replace it. Just make sure that you visit a town before the next day rolls around. It would be much easier to just keep a couple spare decks of mundane cards on hand for throwing purposes until you reach level 3.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Destined for Greatness - What is "Expendable" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.