Clarification of magic item creation rules


Rules Questions


I am confused by this statement;

[qoute]Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.[/qoute]

It seems at first glance to contradict itself. Whom is the caster in this instance?, I am sure it's saying +5 DC for each prerequisite the assisting caster doesn't meet? If so does this apply if being assisted by a magical item?


Supplying a prerequisite with a magic item or another spellcaster qualifies as having the prerequisite.

Note: If the prerequisite is a spell you must supply the spell each day you are crafting.

Liberty's Edge

While it is written from the assumption that only one person is doing the crafting (thus, "the caster" is in reference to the one crafting the item), it is possible to have another spell caster provide the spell that you do not have. For example, a wizard crafting a scroll of cure light wounds—the wizard is the one with the crafting feat, the cleric provides the spell. The wizard does not add +5 to the DC.

Conversely, if an 8th level wizard wanted to make a bane weapon, but didn't have access to summon monster I, he can forego finding someone else to cast the spell by adding +5 to the Craft DC.

EDIT: Regarding the first example, because a scroll is a spell-completion item, the wizard HAS to have the spell available to cast. He can't choose to forego it and add +5 to the DC. If no Devine caster were available, he could not make the scroll.

EDIT2: While there are ways for the wizard to get access to CLW, for the purposes of this discussion, I have omitted them.


Thanks guys, I appreciate you taking the time. so the part that made my brain deny HangarFlyings conclusion was

Quote:
These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created
and then being followed by
Quote:
The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet.

Must is a strong word, its absolute.


8FoldPath wrote:

Thanks guys, I appreciate you taking the time. so the part that made my brain deny HangarFlyings conclusion was

Quote:
These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created
and then being followed by
Quote:
The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet.
Must is a strong word, its absolute.

Given how the rules actually end up working "must" simply means something must be used to fill that requirement in the item's creation. The three ways to do that are;

1. Expend the spell yourself.
2. Acquire the spell from an outside source (another caster, a scroll, etc).
3. Increase the DC by +5 and fake it.

Essentially I think of the requirements for a spell as a series of slots that have to be filled and there are multiple ways to fill those slots.


8FoldPath wrote:

Thanks guys, I appreciate you taking the time. so the part that made my brain deny HangarFlyings conclusion was

Quote:
These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created
and then being followed by
Quote:
The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet.
Must is a strong word, its absolute.

FAQ regarding this very subject. This should clear things up.


Assuming all is correct via the suggestions, Is this graph an accurate reflection?

Magic Item Creation Flow Chart


Thanks for the input guys :) and thanks for the link Blahpers, that clears things up nicely. I swear I did look there first :3


Correct.

Though I'm not sure non-spell pre-reqs exist for spell-trigger items but that doesn't affect the overall accuracy of the chart, just adds an extra step at most. And if we really want to debate semantics I'd put the creation feat pre-req first since that would scrap the whole thing immediately.


Thanks for the input valid indeed, I will change the hierarchy of the flow as per your suggestion

Quote:
Though I'm not sure non-spell pre-reqs exist for spell-trigger items but that doesn't affect the overall accuracy of the chart, just adds an extra step at most.

I will look into this :)

Magic Item Creation Flow Chart Update1


Correct /and/ satisfies my nitpicking. I approve.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification of magic item creation rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions