Multiple Claw Attacks


Rules Questions


I am a bit confused on the full-attack action with natural weapons. Is the number of attacks I get based on how many limbs I have? or the number of attacks I receive:

For instance, Say I'm a Catfolk with the Cat's claws racial trail

Cat's Claws:
Some catfolk have stronger and more developed claws than other members of their race, and can use them to make attacks. catfolk with this racial trait have a pair of claws they can use as natural weapons. These claws are primary attacks that deal 1d4 points of damage. This racial trait replaces natural hunter.

and I'm a level 1st level Draconic Sorcerer that has Claws

Sorcerer Claws:
starting at 1st level, you can grow claws as a free action. These claws are treated as natural weapons, allowing you to make two claw attacks as a full attack action using your full base attack bonus. Each of these attacks deals 1d4 points of damage plus your Strength modifier (1d3 if you are Small).

Would I get (as a full-attack action) 4 natural attacks? or only 2 because I'm using one of the features? or only 1 because my BAB only allows for 1 attack?

If the answer is the 2 or 1, is there any use for multiple claw attacks from different sources or are they just redundant?

Is there any point (possible by getting a much higher BAB or by having more than 2 limbs) where I could use more than 2 claws if that is the answer?

Grand Lodge

You only have two hands, and you can't put claws on your feet.

Two claw attacks is your maximum, unless you get more hands.


I mean arguable you could put them on your feet :P But I get your point

Another question, I read somewhere (not sure where but I remember it distinctly) that if you have one hand holding a weapon you can make your full allocated attacks (based on your Bab) and then make any natural attacks you have after that (losing 1 claw attack because of the weapon in your one hand) as secondary natural attack, is that true?

Grand Lodge

No, the clawed feet thing has been answered. Talons are for feet.

Yes. You can combine Natural and Manufactured Weapon attacks.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
No, the clawed feet thing has been answered. Talons are for feet.

Does this also apply to synthesist summoners? And/or, would you be able to point me in the general direction of the faq or whatever answer you're referring to? /pleasesayyes:)

Grand Lodge

Eidolons have their own, unique, rules.


crud


To clear this up a little if you are a biped creature you can not put claws where you normally have feet.

This is also consistent with monster design in the bestiaries.


One last question, lets say I was a monk Catfolk using unarmed strike and I had a Bab of +6/+1

Does that mean I could (as a full-attack action) do the following:

1) Unarmed strike at +6 bab
2) Unarmed Strike at +1 bab
3) Claw attack at +1 bab
4) Claw attack at +1 bab


Bump


Yes, you can do that, as long as you do not use your hands for your unarmed strike. You also can not combine flurry of blows with natural attacks.

Quote:
A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple Claw Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions