| Umbranus |
If you use aid another while unarmed without IUS provoke as would attacking?
How about with a whip?
In melee combat, you can help a friend attack or defend by distracting or interfering with an opponent. If you're in position to make a melee attack on an opponent that is engaging a friend in melee combat, you can attempt to aid your friend as a standard action. You make an attack roll against AC 10. If you succeed, your friend gains either a +2 bonus on his next attack roll against that opponent or a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent's next attack (your choice), as long as that attack comes before the beginning of your next turn. Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack.
You make an attack roll and you csn only do it if you are in a position to make a melee attack vs the opponent. But IS it an attack?
| Umbranus |
It's not an attack. It's "aid another".
What do you mean "how about a whip"? In what way is it not clear how this interacts with a whip?
Attacking in melee with a whip provokes AoOs same as unarmed attacks. That's what I mean. But if unarmed strikes don't provoke, whips shouldn't, too.
claudekennilol
|
claudekennilol wrote:Attacking in melee with a whip provokes AoOs same as unarmed attacks. That's what I mean. But if unarmed strikes don't provoke, whips shouldn't, too.It's not an attack. It's "aid another".
What do you mean "how about a whip"? In what way is it not clear how this interacts with a whip?
Unless you can show me where Aid Another provokes, then neither provoke.
| Sniggevert |
Umbranus wrote:Unless you can show me where Aid Another provokes, then neither provoke.claudekennilol wrote:Attacking in melee with a whip provokes AoOs same as unarmed attacks. That's what I mean. But if unarmed strikes don't provoke, whips shouldn't, too.It's not an attack. It's "aid another".
What do you mean "how about a whip"? In what way is it not clear how this interacts with a whip?
2 If you aid someone performing an action that would normally provoke an attack of opportunity, then the act of aiding another provokes an attack of opportunity as well.
| Driver_325yards |
claudekennilol wrote:Umbranus wrote:Unless you can show me where Aid Another provokes, then neither provoke.claudekennilol wrote:Attacking in melee with a whip provokes AoOs same as unarmed attacks. That's what I mean. But if unarmed strikes don't provoke, whips shouldn't, too.It's not an attack. It's "aid another".
What do you mean "how about a whip"? In what way is it not clear how this interacts with a whip?
PRD Combat Actions table subnote 2 wrote:2 If you aid someone performing an action that would normally provoke an attack of opportunity, then the act of aiding another provokes an attack of opportunity as well.
Not the same thing, you should have bolded the first part of the quote.
| Sniggevert |
Sniggevert wrote:Not the same thing, you should have bolded the first part of the quote.claudekennilol wrote:Umbranus wrote:Unless you can show me where Aid Another provokes, then neither provoke.claudekennilol wrote:Attacking in melee with a whip provokes AoOs same as unarmed attacks. That's what I mean. But if unarmed strikes don't provoke, whips shouldn't, too.It's not an attack. It's "aid another".
What do you mean "how about a whip"? In what way is it not clear how this interacts with a whip?
PRD Combat Actions table subnote 2 wrote:2 If you aid someone performing an action that would normally provoke an attack of opportunity, then the act of aiding another provokes an attack of opportunity as well.
Was the answer provided with a straight rules presentation? Looks like it to me.
What portion to emphasize? Completely opinion based. I believe the half of the sentence I chose was closer to the direct point he was going for in his last statement.
| Driver_325yards |
All he did was show that if the action that you are aiding provokes then the aid itself provokes. That said, there is no rule out there that says that an aid another action (in and of itself) provokes an attack of opportunity.
Go what ever route you want, but if the route you are going will make a person provoke with a whip just because they are using a whip, then you are wrong.
But don't let that stop you.
Jeff Merola
|
All he did was show that if the action that you are aiding provokes then the aid itself provokes. That said, there is no rule out there that says that an aid another action (in and of itself) provokes an attack of opportunity.
Go what ever route you want, but if the route you are going will make a person provoke with a whip just because they are using a whip, then you are wrong.
But don't let that stop you.
Aiding to attack requires an attack. If you attack with an unarmed strike (without IUS) or a whip (without Whip Mastery) you provoke.
Edit: Misread the Aid Another action previously, so thus edited my post.
| RumpinRufus |
If you aid someone performing an action that would normally provoke an attack of opportunity, then the act of aiding another provokes an attack of opportunity as well.
If the person attacking is making an unarmed strike without IUS, then you provoke, whether you are aiding with a sword or a whip.
If the person attacking is attacking with a sword, you do not provoke whether you are aiding with an unarmed strike, a whip, a sword, or anything else.
| Driver_325yards |
Quote:If you aid someone performing an action that would normally provoke an attack of opportunity, then the act of aiding another provokes an attack of opportunity as well.If the person attacking is making an unarmed strike without IUS, then you provoke, whether you are aiding with a sword or a whip.
If the person attacking is attacking with a sword, you do not provoke whether you are aiding with an unarmed strike, a whip, a sword, or anything else.
Yes, this is so obviously correct.