Myrmidarch / Ranged Spellstrike / Molten Orb


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So I think I know where I'm going to fall on this question. It's not too huge of a leap.

The Ranged Spellstrike ability allows you to attach a spell that is a ranged touch attack to a ranged attack. Molten Orb does not specify that it is a ranged touch attack, just that it's treated as a splash weapon.

A splash weapon is a ranged touch attack. RSP also specifies that the spell has to be single target, which a splash spell would not be.

Am I looking into it too much? Is it clearly to be allowed?


I'd have to agree, if acid dart is allowed this should be allowed as well.
"To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target."


It would only work as a quickened spell unless the spell you are striking with is a spell that has held charges from a previous round. The limiter that immidiately came to mind is you can only cast one spell per round unless one is quickened.


In My Humble Opinion wrote:
It would only work as a quickened spell unless the spell you are striking with is a spell that has held charges from a previous round. The limiter that immidiately came to mind is you can only cast one spell per round unless one is quickened.

I believe that is only due to action limits and spells often being standard actions.

Regardless i think the wording is that you hurl the orb as a splash weapon, but it is still a spell, not a ranged weapon attack, as is required by spellstrike.

That being said i wouldn't think this to be game breaking.

Also, someone mentionedoned this working with acid dart, can we get a source for that? If that has been officially cited then i would think that validates this.

Grand Lodge

Thank you guys for the help.

I decided to allow it. I appreciate all the responses. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Myrmidarch / Ranged Spellstrike / Molten Orb All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions